When Trust is Lost

13 16
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

“Mom, well have an activity at school. I was assigned by my teacher to bring 2 bottles of soda. Please mom give me money to buy it.”

“Are you sure it’s a school activity? I think you’re just deceiving me; no teacher will ask students to bring bottles of soda for a school project. Look at your sister, she graduated in college without asking for projects like that.”

“You’re comparing me to my sister again! Mom I’m telling you the truth!” She started to stomp her feet on the ground and whined like a little child.

“Hey! Will you stop that?! You’re too noisy! I’m going to town later so I can buy those for you if mom will give me money.”

“Alright, here’s $2. Buy whatever that girl is asking for.”

“Okay mom” I said. My sister stopped doing tantrums too. Gosh! She’s already in 9th grade and still whine and throws tantrums!

I quickly changed my clothes and readied myself to go to town. I arrived at the nearest supermarket and looked for bottled sodas. I got three 1.5 liters and roamed around the supermarket to look for groceries. I then headed to the counter, but to my dismay, it looks like a line for a blockbuster movie, so I must wait for almost 35 minutes in queue. Finally, when my legs almost gave up, it’s finally my turn to pay.

I paid for the groceries and went home. My sister was so happy to see that I already bought the stuffs she’s asking for. I asked her what the activity is all about but, she just shrugged her shoulders and didn’t answer my question.

The next day, she woke up early and went to school. I too prepared myself because I also have a class at 9:30. I took a bath and ironed my uniform. Then I ate my breakfast and went outside to wait for a ride. A few minutes later, a tricycle stopped by, and I saw my sister’s friend inside the tricycle.

“Hey! What’s up? Looks like you’re running late for school huh. Marian went to school early. She told us that you have some sort of activity at school. I even bought the projects assigned to her by your teacher.”

“Really?! She told you that?” She asked in disbelief.

“Yes, that’s what we heard from her. Are you not part of the activity?” I asked

“No, we don’t have classes today. Our friends planned to go on an outing today, but I didn’t join because I don’t feel like going. I thought Marian’s not going to come because the two of us already decided not to join.”

That caught me off-guard. But I was laughing in my mind upon finding out that my sister lied to us. I was annoyed about the fact that I must wait in queue for more than 30 minutes, but she just deceived us. Mom was right about it. So, I pretended that I’m okay about what she told me.

“Really? So where are you supposed to go for your outing today?” I asked my sister’s friend.

“We planned a swimming and it’s in Villa Sofia. Are you familiar with the place? It’s just an eight-minute ride from here.”

“Yes! I’m familiar with that resort.” I bid her goodbye as soon as I reached the gate of my university.

Lunch time came so I must go home. I told my mom about what I just found out to get back at my sister and to teach her a lesson for lying to us. Mom was enraged too, probably more annoyed than me. So, he sent my brother and my uncle to the resort to check if my sister’s friend is indeed telling the truth since we can’t really trust her words hundred percent, she is known to be a liar too according to my sister’s stories.

Fifteen minutes later, the two are back with evil smiles on their faces.

“What! Is she really there?” I eagerly asked the two.

“Well, I just caught her happily running around trying to catch a boy. Must be her friend.”

Afternoon came. My sister went home with a reddish complexion caused by too much exposure to sunlight.

“Where did you go?” With a stern and serious face, mom asked her.

“I told you, there’s an activity at school! So obviously I went to school.”

“Don’t lie to me. I know you didn’t go to school.”

“I really did! You should ask Rachelle, we were together.”

“Oh really? Are you sure about that?” I meddled with their conversation.

“I met her this morning and she told we you went on an outing.”

Her face started to become pale. “Quit lying because we already know the truth. John and Uncle went to look for you and they saw you on the resort. Really? Is that the project you are talking about? And you have the audacity to lie eve though you are already caught in the act.”

She didn’t anticipate that her friend would betray her and tell on her. It’s her fault for not saying the truth. So that’s the story of how my sister lost the trust of our parents. I admit that I also told white lies before but not to the extent that I will deceive them because I know how vital it is not to lose my parents’ trust. For young people, the trust of our parents is like a key – the key to getting more freedom. They’ve granted me more freedom and they never question me when I ask for their permission that I’m going on a trip, or an overnight because I showed them that they could trust me. But as for my sister, until now they still doubt her every time, she asks for a permission to go somewhere. Though she just made a mistake as a rebellious young teen and that she already changed, but still what’s lost is lost.

So, if you are a teenager and you’re reading this, make sure that you maintain the trust of your parents, because it’s hard when trust is lost.

7
$ 9.23
$ 9.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 1
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Kuu, ako'y diko magawang makapag sinungaling kay mommy para ss outing lagimg linyahan non ee "Papunta ka palang, nakauwi na kami!" Nakakaasar din mandin. Kaya ayon, pag may happy happy ang buong school, di na ako nag aaksaya ng oras na magpa alam dahil alam ko na agad ang sagot nya. Buti nalang talaga may pocketbook ee kaya kahit di ako makasama sa mga ganyan gawa ng paghihigpit nila nag enjoy oa rin naman ako. Tsk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako kasi as a student di naman ako mahilig sumamasa sa mga lakwatsa, especially nung high school. Kaya yung parents ko malaki tiwala sa akin kasi never nila akong nahuling nagsinungaling para lang pumunta sa kung saan. Pero nung college na, kung saan saan na rin nakakarating, nagpapaalam kapag nakauwi na at wala na silang magagawa haha minsan naman kapag paalis na saka ako nagsasabi kung saan pupunta. Pero interview muna bago makaalis such as complete names nung mga kasama, saang lugar, anong pangalan ng parents haha weirdo

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

lol I've done that a couple of times but i was a good student so i wasn't questioned. my sisters also do that, actually but what's important is that we know so we can cover for them since we do know that we need the freedom. one rule we have though is to know your limits for that moment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also old my parents white lies as a student. But I never experienced going to places and not telling them the real story. And telling lies is absolutely not being tolerated at home, so I won't have their back 'cause that is the same as tolerating their lies.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

i guess it would have been better if they were at least honest with you despite not being honest with the parents but then your household seems pretty strict in that aspect

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, my beautiful friend, a very curious story, no doubt many times we forget that our actions have consequences, it is a real shame that your sister is like that, I hope she learns from her mistakes, because it is not only the fact that she has lied, to go to that place, but if something had happened to her, as you would have found out? totally unknown where she was, and that is when the real tragedies occur, greetings my beautiful friend, take care of yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello friend. Oh how I miss reading your comments! How are you? As for my sister, she already learned from her mistake, that was what she did when she is still young and that is actually expected out of teenagers who have very strict parents.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Hello my beautiful friend, very well and you?, you will see me more often here, I missed commenting on such a good post, I'm glad you learned your lesson and have matured, yes, unfortunately, the stricter you are, the more rebellious your children get, greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also well friend. I was just busy with my life outside the virtual world. My job consumed most of my time so I'm unable to publish articles here.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Truly, trust is a precious one. We can't buy it yet it's priceless. I admit I used to lie during my childhood days due to my stepmom's ill character. I keep lying because I'm afraid to get hurt or punnished. I don't even care if I lost her trust. Now, I'm glad I'm free from those dark days. I'm proud, I have my boss' trust that she doesn't want any other caretaker of her small business here in our place. It's not much but it's a great accomplishment for me. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Usually the reason why kids lie is because they are afraid of being scolded and that is the negative result of super strict parenting. When parents are too strict, children usually makes up lies to cover for their mistakes. Good for you that you've survive the dark days. Keep going!

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Trust is something na talagang ang hirap ibalik. You will have to work hard to regain that trust and that applies not only sa nanay natin. That's why we must always try our best to be true to our words and action.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Parang glass na kapag nasira di na maibabalik sa dati. Di ko na pinahaba kasi inaantok na ko kanina hehe, expound ko yan bukas kapag may time 😁 Thanks momma 💚

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago