The best Sageuk

9 30
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

It is time for Sageuk again.

Historical dramas, such as traditional theater plays, films, or television shows, are referred to as Sageuk in Korean. Sageuk is a term used in English literature to describe historical films and television programs. South Korean historical dramas are commonly referred to as 고전 영화 or classic film in North Korea.

- Wikipedia

2021 seemed to be a year of good Sageuk dramas. Few of which are:

  • River where the moon rises

  • Lovers of the red sky

  • The King's Affection

  • Lovers of the Red sky

  • Secret royal inspector and Joy

  • The red sleeve cuff

  • Moonshine

Out of these historical Kdramas of 2021, I only finished watching The King's Affection, and I can say that it is totally worth watching. I'll rate this 8.5/10. I am actually not familiar with the actors so I didn't watch it at first. However, the plot piqued my interest, so I began watching and finally fell in love with the cast and the story. I was worried that the lead actress wouldn't be able to portray a male character successfully, but she did. This is highly recommended.

I am also currently watching Secret royal Inspector. Ok Taecyeon is the major reason I watched it. I've admired him since I first saw him on Dream High in 2011. And I've liked 2 PM, the Korean male idol group he's in, since then. I stopped watching it at episode 6 though because the update is too slow and I was also busy. But since it is already nearly complete, I will continue to binge-watch soon.

Aside from the latter, I am also watching The red sleeve cuff. I thought I wouldn't like the drama because I am not very familiar with the lead actress. And I only saw Lee Junho sing and dance. My friend suggested it and I was hesitant when I started. But eventually, I fell in love with the entire drama including the story, the plot, and the actor's visuals. I thought I am not going to stan an actor after the heartbreak I experienced with Kim Seon Ho, but I was wrong. I am completely whipped by Lee Junho. But not only that, he has great chemistry with the main actress as well as with the rest of the cast too. I am not going to say much about the drama as it may spoil those who want to watch it too. All I can say is that this drama is 10/10, and if you are looking for something to binge-watch, this is highly recommended.

Moonshine has just started two weeks ago and I haven't started watching it yet, I plan to watch it once it reaches episode 12. I think it will be a good drama as well since it is being starred by Hyeri and Yoo Seung Ho, who are both great actors.

Okay, all I talk about these days are Kdramas. It said that what the mouth says is the contains of the heart. These days, I spend my free time watching dramas so I can only talk about them.

And speaking of Sageuk, Here are the best historical Kdramas for me. If you haven't seen these, these are highly recommended. If you're looking for something to watch, then try watching any of these.

Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo

It's been 5 years since I watched this drama, but the heartbreak that it gave me is still remaining in my heart. This drama is on top of my list of Sageuk. This will make a person feel all the emotions. The cheerfulness and clumsiness of Hae Soo (played by IU) will make you laugh, even her 'conflicts' with one of the Prince's. The first few episodes are so funny that they will bring tears of joy. But there are episodes that you'll also feel giddy and wishes the best for the romance between characters. Other episodes will make you fuming mad, that is if your emotions are easily get swayed and that's me. There are times I almost shouted out of frustration, but I have to control my feelings because it's just a drama. And there are also episodes when the tears of joy because of the funny episodes will turn into tears of sadness. Even if you are just watching it, you'll feel the heartbreak that every character has been through. I smiled, I laughed, I cried with the characters. But overall, this is a 10/10 drama. It also has the best soundtracks which made it more meaningful. Until now, I still listen to the OSTs of the drama.

Hwarang: The Poet Warrior Youth

This is also one of the best Sageuk for me. If you are looking for a drama that has good visuals, then this is for you. It has the overflowing visuals of Park Seo Joon, Park Hyung Sik, Kim Taehyung, Choi Minho, Go Ara, and the badass princess, Seo Ye Ji. What really caught my attention is the faceless King, Sam Maek Jong. If you want to know what happened here, just watch the drama. It is also a 10/10 for me, watching this also triggered mixed emotions.

Love In The Moonlight/Moonlight Drawn by Clouds

Another Sageuk that was released in 2016. It was starred by Park Bo Gum and Kim Yoo Jung. They are both so cute in this drama.

It's a lovely but tragic love story, a voyage of friendship and trust in which some flowers wilt and die while others blossom and grow fonder of each other. I like how the title Moonlight Drawn By Clouds reflects the core theme of the story, which is that no king shines brightly on his own, but rather when surrounded by people, much like the moon does when there are clouds around it.

These are the best and unforgettable Sageuks for me. I was just prompted to write this while watching the last two episodes of The Red Sleeve Cuff. I had to pause the video and hurried over in front of my laptop before I ever forget about it. I hope you enjoyed reading!

Lead image: istockphoto.com

5
$ 8.94
$ 8.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Kryptlook
+ 2
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Familiar ka din ba sa strong girl bong soon? Yan lang yung kdrama na di ko malilimutan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Limang beses ko na nga na binge watch yun haha. Yun lang ang kdrama na inulit ulit ko talaga

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Wala ko idea sa mga kdrama na yan, F4 lang ata alam ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag mo na lang alamin haha. Yung kaklase ko dati kalalaking tao, nung naimpluwensyahan ko mag Kdrama, mas naging 'adik' pa sakin eh 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Sa totoo lang, pili lang ang Historical Drama na gusto ko ee. Yang top 3 na nabanggit mo sa baba pero pinaka the best sa lahat for me is Sungkyunkwan Scandal. Yan talaga ung historical drama na diko niskip haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakalimutan ko nga pala yun haha. Pero oo maganda din talaga yun. Isa sa mga historical na di mapanakit 😅 Yang red sleeve, nagmana ng korona ng Scarlet Heart 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Diba diba hahaha. Anlaaa ayaw ko na panoorin yaan. Dun nalang ata ako sa mga action, crime , thriller and investigative genre ba haha. Maigi pa ata Happiness ja. Kasi un may happy ending talaga 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung King's affection, di heartbreaking ang ending kaya inexpect ko din dito sa red sleeve. Yun pala sa una lang masaya 😅 Ayoko ng hapiness, gigilness daw makukuha diyan eh hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Sageuk is really lovely 😍 place I want to go there one day in ShA Allah I will go there

$ 0.01
2 years ago