Reasons Why I love watching Korean Dramas

7 103
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Since I was in college, I've been a fan of Korean dramas. I first started downloading dramas in 2012. Back in college, I had a few friends who would always ask me why I enjoy watching Kdramas and what I get out of them, and you know what's funny? They became addicted to Kdramas a few years afterwards.

Aside from the technical aspects and other elements of Korean dramas, I enjoy watching them for other reasons. It's not just because I enjoy looking at attractive, talented actors and actresses; it's also because of fantastic storylines and cutting-edge cinematography. When I watch Kdramas, I get a lot more than that. Here are some of the reasons why:

It allows me to let go of emotions that are normally bottled up inside of me. One of my friends said I'm the type of person who can masterfully conceal my genuine feelings. I am a very private person who is hesitant to tell anybody, even my closest friends, how I truly feel. I'm usually embarrassed to express what and how I'm feeling. Even as a child, whenever I was scolded or beaten by my mother, I tried very hard not to cry in front of her, preferring instead to cry quietly after everyone had gone to bed. My crushes were also kept a secret from others. I never tell anyone about it, not even my friends. The truth is that I can only express myself fully while I'm writing.

However, watching Korean dramas has help me in releasing the feelings I've been holding inside. I have a tendency to empathize with the characters, and I frequently find myself smiling, crying, and occasionally being enraged or irritated while watching a drama. And apparently that this is beneficial to one's emotional well-being.

It aids with my relaxation. Dramas provide me with a sense of relief and relaxation. Though there are moments when the flow of the story or a particular character irritates me, watching something suspenseful appears to help release cortisol, the stress hormone, which is later followed by dopamine, which releases feelings of pleasure. So, even if anything in the drama irritates me, it still helps me to de-stress. Usually, I prefer light dramas with little suspense, such as romantic comedies and romance dramas, so I can unwind more.

It helps me in temporarily forgetting about the things that concern me. I'm not getting any younger, and all of these 'adulting' responsibilities are quite distressing to contemplate. I don't want to waste my time worrying about things that will only make me feel sad and worse, depressed. However, watching Kdramas allows me to divert my attention away from such issues. It's as if I'm temporarily immersed in the world of the drama I'm watching, which distracts me from my troubles.

Dramas teach me a lot of life lessons. I'm now watching a Netflix drama called 'Hometown Cha Cha Cha,' which is a light romantic comedy drama that makes me smile a lot while I'm watching it. Aside from that, it has other valuable life lessons. "The only gift that parents can give to their child is remaining healthy," says one line that I can't get out of my head, and I know it's true. It also shows that true happiness in life is not solely dependent on a high-paying career. We may also appreciate and cherish the tiny yet lovely things in life.

These are just few of the reasons why I love to watch Korean dramas which I thought about after I saw a post that says watching movies is good for mental health.

Lead image taken from shutterstock.com

7
$ 8.70
$ 8.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 2
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

We are Netflix subscribers and one time I saw a Korean drama series. I started watching and then stopped, thinking I would go back later. By the time I went back, they had deleted it from the database. But then my husband found another one. At that time, Netflix did not have a lot to choose from. But now they have a lot. I watched that series and fell in love with K-drama. Not only was it entertaining but very educational. I'm hooked! I have published some suggestions here. Some are in Spanish. I think I'll will write them in English and also publish here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di lang life lessons and all and mkukuha sa oag nood ng mga kdramas ee kundi sandamakmak na Oppa na magsasawa ka kakapili. Pero syempre walang sawaan, Oppa is love 😻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo to lahat 💗

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Haha since Lovers in Paris pero Taiwanese F4 Meteor Garden talaga pinakauna. Nakakatanggal ng stress!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sa Boys Over Flower talaga unang naadik, third year hs pa lang ako nun pero mas naging kdrama fan nung college na. Pampa tanggal ng stress kapag nakaka pagod na ang school works 😁

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Nakakatanggal sa stress din sila noh. Hehe 💕 Regardless of their beautiful faces, I love their accent and how they talk, i mean their language itself. Hehehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I live their language too, it doesn't sound like a foreign language to me anymore kakapanood ko ng kdrama 😅 Inaral ko pa yan nung college hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago