It's weird

5 24
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Today, like the usual I woke up upon hearing the noises coming from outside. As I opened my eyes, my other senses are also automatically activated and then there's that weird smell again. I smelled my clothes thinking that it's coming from me. But I doubt it because I cleaned myself before I went to sleep last night. I sniffed and sniffed once again. Maybe it's coming from somewhere in the room. But no.

I decided to go out and I almost puked as I was greeted by the foul smell of the stir-fried onion and garlic coming from what my mom is cooking. I immediately ran back to my room as I was also feeling dizzy because of the smell.

It's been almost two months since I'm like this. I ignored it at first and didn't say anything about it. But as days pass, it's becoming weirder and weirder, and can't help but complain about it.

How it started

The problem started in August or September. I am not that good at remembering dates so I can't really tell the exact date, but I'm sure it was around those months. Almost everyone in our neighborhood is getting sick. They were infected with colds and are having fevers. In our family, the first one to get infected is my father. He got a fever and later on he also acquired colds and cough. After a week, he is still unwell and lost his sense of taste and smell. He also had difficulty in breathing. We suspected it was COVID, but he doesn't want to get a check-up and relied on herbal medicine since, in the first place, he is not allowed to take synthetic meds because of his allergies. After two weeks, he is already a little better and that's when my sister also acquired cough and colds and lost her sense of smell. I was even joking with her and teasing her that she had covid.

I went on with my daily routines like usual. One day, I went to school, but since my colleague who always gives me a ride back and forth to work has some errands to take care of that day, I decided to go home early to catch the last trip. The sun was scorching hot that day and I had to wait for the jeepney and endure the heat even though I was in a shade, I can still feel humid and it makes me dizzy. I was also hungry, but can't eat because the jeepney might leave me behind. I got home past 1 pm that day and had my lunch late. After eating my lunch I went to bed because I wasn't feeling well. When I woke up, I already had a high fever and was chilling. That's when it started. After a few days, I acquired coughs and colds and the fever stayed for almost a week.

Then one afternoon, I suddenly could not smell the alcohol. I thought it's already expired so I smelled it one more time. That's when I suddenly felt afraid that I might have lost my sense of smell too, just like my sister and my father. I sniffed everything around the house and confirmed that I really lost it.

Fast forward....

After 2 weeks, I was finally feeling better. I can smell a little and after a month. My sense of smell went back to normal, as well as my sense of taste.

But I just woke up one day with that weird smell. I already posted this on noise.cash and some users told me that I am having post-covid symptoms.

So I asked my friend who tested positive of covid-19 about her experience, what she felt and whether she also experience the loss of sense of taste and smell and how is she feeling nowadays. She told me that even though she was positive of covid, she didn't experience most of the COVID-9 symptoms. I told her about my experience and she concluded that it was definitely covid if ever I had myself checked by a doctor.

She also told me that the symptom I currently have is one of the symptoms that her doctor told her. And it will take 3 months to 1 year before I really get my normal sense of taste and smell.

I just hope for it to return to normal soon because it is so hard. I can't enjoy food no matter how delicious it is. I can't enjoy my coffee because it smells weird. Most of the time, I would just skip a meal or eat a little amount because I do not like the taste and the smell. I told my sister that living will be tiresome if this will continue for a long time. I'd rather lose my sense of smell permanently than have this weird sense of smell.

5
$ 4.18
$ 4.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 1
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Get well soon po! Ang hirap po talaga magkasakit sa panahon ngayon kasi punuan mga centers and hospitals. Pahinga ka lang po at gagaling po kayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaaaaa, get well soon oiii. Sa tulad nyong sanay sa may sense of smell at taste mahirap iyan talaha lalo na maaaring maging covida. At buti kamo di kana nagpa check up for apa isolate kana agad ng doctor if ever aguyy lang talaga. Pagaling pa ikaw ng todo todo 🥳💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Sana nga gumaling na talaga at bumalik sa dati. Ang hirap kaya ng ganito, parang lahat ng pagkain ang weird ng lasa. Papayat talaga ako kung ganito 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Awww, buti ako sanay ng walang pang amoy. Dami ko pa ring nakakain. Sauo kasi di ka sanay aguyyt. Pero di nga pala dapat sanayin hahaha. May nga pang remedy ka naman jan na homemade ee 💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanalahat sanay nang walang pang amoy 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago