First Impression

13 39
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

When we meet someone for the first time, it's frequently similar to how we can tell if we like or dislike a certain dish based on our first bite and whether we'd like to eat it again. We can form an opinion or impression of a person based on their appearance, how they are dressed, how they speak, and their manner at first glance. We may also create an opinion about a person based on his or her demeanor. And we could tell right away whether we liked or disliked that person based on our observations. We could discern whether or not we wanted to be friends with that individual. And here's the thing: while we are forming an impression of the person, they are also doing the same about us.

The first impression is crucial because it can influence how we treat others and how they treat us. As the phrase goes, "first impressions last," and making a positive first impression will influence how we create relationships with others. If you are someone who works really hard to secure a job, it is critical to make a strong first impression on an interviewer. Our success is usually determined by our first impression.

Let's take a look at some areas where we may improve in order to make a positive and lasting impression.

Physical appearance

The way we look has a major effect on how others perceive us. It may sound harsh, but how people treat us is often determined by our appearance. We all form impressions of someone based on their appearance, whether we admit it or not. It may seem unfair, but if you look decent, dress smartly, and carry yourself with dignity, people will respect you more than if you appear unkempt.

This is something I can personally attest to. I don't generally dress up when I go to the market to buy supplies or occasionally to the supermarket to buy groceries, for two reasons: first, the market is only a few kilometers away from us, so dressing up is a hassle, and second, I don't feel like dressing up when I'm only going to the market. People at the market would usually call me 'ate', a Filipino word that literally means older sister. Instead of assisting me, a baggage guy once inquired why I didn't ask my husband to assist me in carrying the stuff I had purchased, which was the most irritating thing I had ever heard while at the market. I was also least prioritized. However, when I'm dressed up or wearing something that explicitly says what my profession is, people treat me differently; instead of calling me 'ate', they call me 'ma'am' or 'madam'. I was always welcomed cordially and given priority, and they thanked me once I paid my bill.

See how our physical appearance affects people's perceptions of us. So it is really important to always mind our appearance. Dress according to the situation or occasion, always wear a warm smile and maintain good hygiene. It doesn't matter whether we are wearing old or inexpensive clothes as long as it is neat and we wear it with dignity.

The Way We Speak

Even now, the old adage "action speaks louder than words" is true. The words we use reveal a lot about who we are as individuals. If I meet someone for the first time and they love cussing and using derogatory language, I am unlikely to associate with them again. Because our words serve as a window through which others can see what we are really like, we should aim to make that view delightful! Something that people would want to look at again and again.

When one of my coworkers told me that her initial impression of me is that I am unapproachable and a snob, I felt compelled to write about it. She even thought I was arrogant and snobby. I wasn't hurt and didn't take it personally; instead, I told her I'm used to it and she's not the first person to have such first impression of me,

People have always thought of me as a snob due of my demeanor since I was a child. I'm not sure why they think of me that way. Maybe because I don't easily smile. But it's mostly because I'm shy that I find it difficult to socialize with people I don't know and not close with. However, they invariably misinterpret it as being unapproachable, snobbish and worst, rude. When people get to know me better and see the real me however, they'll tell me that first impressions don't always last. I may look snobby at first, but once they get to know me, I can be the most talkative and annoying person they've met.

9
$ 18.65
$ 18.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I believe that the first impression can be correct most of the time, because as a result, the first impression is a reflection we give to the other party. There is always room for error and error, but first impression, observation, or feeling is a feeling I trust.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ako naniniwala don Kasi halos lahat sila sinupladahan ko dati pero kaibigan ko na silang lahat. I mean mga friends ko hahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Sakn dn madam mataray daw ako first impression ng iba.panu kya yun n hndi nga ako pala salita 🤣. Bka sa mata ko natatarayan sla 🤣 nkasimangot nga lage haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung di ka na nga nagsasalita, wala ka namang ginagawa pero ikaw pa mataray 🤣 I feel you haha. Ako din natatarayan daw sila sa mata ko kaya inaahit ko na yung kilay ko ngayon para di mukhang nakataas lagi hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba, wala talaga ako pake sa iisipin ng iba kaya I wear what I want. I know naman na first impression last pero kahit anong pananamit ko mas gusto kong mag mukhang mataray na babae sa mata ng lahat na laging nakakunot ang noo ahahahaha. Ayaw ko lang kasi makipag usap or makisalamuha ayaw ko talaga sa tao ee huehuebels. Pero alam mo ba dahil sa pananamit ko minsan natatawag na akong Nanay 🙄🙄 pero okay lang naman kiber ko sa kanila hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang dami kasing judgemental sa atin. Ako din naman dati di talaga ako mahilig mag ayos at magdamit ng maayos kaya napapagkamalan din akong nanay ng kapatid ko. Buti ngayon na upgrade na, hindi na nanay, tita na hahaha Ako naman effortless, kahit wala akong ginagawa mataray talaga tingin nila. Kahit nga ngumingiti na ko parang alanganin pa rin sa tao, ewan ko ba.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

First impression sakin, mabait. 😁😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all. Ako lagi na lang mataray 😅 Mabait naman ako at mapagmahal ah haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Oo naman! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakin First impression is maldita, snobber at pinak worst malandi hahaha 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay grabe yung malandi 😅 Ako lagi din maldita ang first impression, ang mahal daw ng ngiti haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Yun nga may bayad daw ngiti haha. Minsan ganon tingin nang iba sakin..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tapos kapag naman nginingitian mo lahat at napaka friendly sasabihan ka ng malandi kahit di ka pa naman talaga kilala. Hay nako.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago