A simple token of encouragement and appreciation

10 32
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Have you ever been given a gift as a token of gratitude? What about receiving a letter?

Those that were born in the 1980s and 1990s are certain to have written and received love letters. Unlike today's millennials, baby boomers enjoyed the opportunity to connect with their pen pals. In fact, I was fortunate enough to read the letters written by a grandfather and grandmother I knew. It's wonderful, and simply reading their letters makes me happy.

I've never gotten a letter, but I think writing one is a thoughtful gesture. Nowadays, our generation enjoys writing long sweet messages for their loved ones and putting them on social media. But, as an old soul, that gesture makes me cringe, especially when I imagine that hundreds, if not thousands, of others, would see that message, even those you don't know.

I still believe that receiving a hand-written letter from someone is one of the greatest things in life, regardless of how advanced technology has become. It's nice to read a long, sweet message privately, and to know how much effort the giver put into writing that letter

With this in mind, I made a vow to spend the rest of my life with the first guy who wrote me a handwritten letter; blame it on the hopeless romantic in me.

Why am I even discussing letters? Well, last week, I wrote letters to random people to encourage them. Some are given to the couriers who deliver the parcels I purchased from online shopping apps.

Isn't it good to receive an inspiring letter from someone you don't even know in this day and age when life is hard due to the pandemic and other issues?

I used to write letters, but I'm not confident in my penmanship, so I just print them before. However, I then understood that a handwritten letter is much better because it reflects my sincerity and efforts.

PREPARATION

I first prepared the materials before beginning to write the letters. On the internet, I looked for lovely backdrops and borders. I went for the stylish ones and made sure they wouldn't cause any misunderstandings. After that, I print it out on bond paper. It's more convenient this way because I won't have to buy stationery paper.

After that, I considered the persons to whom I'd be giving the letters. After I figured that out, I contemplated the message I'd like to put in the letter.

I take my time writing because I don't want to make any mistakes and I want it to be neat and tidy so that the reader can understand what I'm saying. Here's the final result after 3 hours of writing:

I love how it turned out to be.

LETTER WRITING

The letters that I wrote are intended to encourage people. And nowadays, where will we ever find a positive and encouraging thought? Well, I believe it is the bible.

Here are the sample letters that I wrote.

Hello,

Thank you for delivering my parcel! We appreciate what you do for us and the community.

We k ow that these days are difficult, full of worries and stress. But notice what the bible says in Proverbs 14:30 "A CALM HEART GIVES LIFE TO THE BODY." The bible tells us that being worry-free is one of the keys to a happy life.

Please visit the website jw.org or jw.org/tl if you want to k ow more about how to ha e a happy and worry-free life.

Ingat po lagi (Take care always) and have a nice day :)

-Shiela

I gave this to a delivery rider the next day. Unlike the nice delivery guy before, he will only yell our name outdoors each time he delivers our package instead of getting off of his motorcycle. But I simply let him be because he's probably exhausted from delivering the packages already, especially since he always comes in the afternoon.

I thanked him and handed him the letter before he left, telling him to read it when he got home.

Do you have any idea what's surprising? He was already polite when he brought my next parcel after 5 days. He got off his motorcycle and looked for me. Unlike before, he's already smiling and looked friendly. I guess he appreciated the letter I gave him.

Here's another letter I meant to hand out to sales staff and those who work at the baggage counter when I go grocery shopping.

How about you> Have you received this kind of letter before? :)

5
$ 7.70
$ 7.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Aww just letting know people your appreciation is so sweet what more if it is in a form of personal letter. That is so sweet!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Jijisaur. I hope they appreciate it too 😊

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Aww this is sweet, katuwa naman. Hindi mo alam baka yong letters na yan ee mas nakapag bigay ng bagong pag asa sa kanila kasi may nakaka appreciate pala sa kanila. For sure marami pang susunod na bibigyan ko ng ganito share mo ulit anong reaction nila oiii 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Ruffa sa $$ 😁 Sana nga maappreciate din nila yung letters.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

For sure yan naku 🥳🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my first time reading your article, I will like to say that I love reading it. I have never received any kind of letter like that, please kindly accept my sponsor ship offer 🙏. Please I will like to know you better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for dropping by, and for the sponsorship offer. Keep safe 😊

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

You are welcome . I will like to know you more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung tinututore ko madam na anak ni boss nung bata pa sya..nagbibigay tlga yun letter..tinago ko nga lahat.kaso nsa pinas na..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aaaw, ang sweet naman. Ako pala naalala ko lang ngayon naka receive na din ng letters dati nung practice teaching tapos nasaktong teacher's day. May kasama pang chocolates hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago