Blockchain Developers Medellín #1 Recap

1 126
Avatar for sambarboza
4 years ago

I just hosted my 1st Blockchain Developers Meetup in Medellín, Colombia and I'm thrilled to share my experiences with you.

I'm an Android Developer and one of my main goals for the year is to learn more about Blockchain Development, as an (rare breed of) extrovert developer I thought that hosting Developer oriented meetups with blockchain as the main subject would make me study more about it, and guess what? It's working!

Today I've learned quite a bit about different Token systems, some history behind them and was able to share with other 10 Developers/Techies about it.

The talk was about "Tokenization", analysis of some use cases and "how to create your own token".

After going through some history of Tokens on blockchains and showing some existing use cases I used the mint.bitcoin.com tool to create our own BDMED (Blockchain Developers Medellín) SLP Token. Funny thing, everyone wanted it! They all downloaded the Bitcoin.com Wallet and I gave each person 10 freshly minted BDMEDs.

This time, the beer was on my own, I told them that next time I'll charge some BEDMEDs for it, and they liked that idea, of course :P

I'm excited to learn more about blockchain development and thankful that tools like SLP and mint.bitcoin.com exists. It's 2020 and even non-developers can create their tokens with a few clicks!

Here are the slides if you're curious: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1WKE2Zfx_gvdc_AnQ10Rrc5wGnjbi8nlg2Uww3CbLWFY/edit#slide=id.g714654e1cf_1_49

1
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @georgedonnelly

Comments

Kudos, nice work! Looking forward to your next meetup.

$ 0.00
4 years ago