Kate Moss reveals the perils of the fashion industry

0 19
Avatar for sahidul_islam
1 year ago

The British model opens up about the dangers of the fashion industry, claiming it glorifies thinness and drug use, and her part in Johnny Depp's recent lawsuit.

Kate Moss has revealed how a photo shoot as a teenager helped "sharpen my instincts", enabling her to "tell a mistake from a mile away" when talking about the dangers of the fashion industry.


The British model was just 15 years old when she was working with a photographer who asked her to remove her top and bra during a bra catalog photo shoot.recommendation


Now 48, she told BBC Desert Island Disc that despite being "very body shy" she took her top off when asked.

"And she said, 'Take off your bra', and I could sense that something was wrong, so I grabbed my things and ran away."


"I think it sharpened my instincts.


business


"I can tell a 'mistake' from a mile away."


Moss grew up in Croydon, South London, and signed to Storm Management in 1988 at the age of 14.


She became famous two years later after doing a photo shoot on the beach at Camber Sands in East Sussex.


Moss told host Lauren Laverne that it was "painful" to remember the photo shoot with fashion photographer Corinne Day for The Face magazine.


'I didn't want to take off my blouse'

"That wrinkled nose on the cover, it said, 'snorts like a pig' to get that image.


"And I was like, 'I don't want to snort like a pig,' and he was like, 'Snort like a pig, that's when it looks good.'"


Moss said she "cried a lot" because she felt uncomfortable being naked.

She said: "I didn't want to take my top off.


"I was very, very self-conscious about my body and she was like, 'If you don't take your top off I'm not going to hire you for Elle' and I was crying.


"It's pretty hard (to get me back there).


"It's painful because he was my best friend and I really loved him, but he was a very difficult person to work with.


"But you know, the photos are amazing, so he got what he wanted and I suffered for them, but they ended up doing me a lot better.


"They changed my career."


"I feel like I've been a scapegoat for a lot of people's problems."

Moss worked with Day again in 1993 for Vogue.


Photos taken at Moss's flat showed her in her underwear, prompting criticism that she was glorifying thinness and drug use.


"I think I was a scapegoat for a lot of people's problems.

“I was never anorexic, I never was. I have never taken heroin. I was skinny because they didn't feed me on photoshoots or shows and I was always skinny.


"It was a fashion shoot. It was shot in my flat and that's how I could survive at the time."


"And I think it was a shock because she wasn't a brat and she was just a normal girl.


"She wasn't a glamazon model, and I think that surprised them."


'Everyone I knew was a drug addict'


In 2009, she was quoted by the fashion website WWD as saying "there's nothing better than feeling skinny", but she told Desert Island Disc that the words were taken out of context as a "snippet".


She also spoke about photos released in 2005 showing her using cocaine with then-boyfriend Pete Doherty.


She said: "I felt sick and quite angry that everyone I knew was a drug addict, so for them to focus on me and try to take my daughter away from me, I thought I was a real hypocrite."


When asked why he publicly apologized, Moss replied, "I really had to apologize because if people look at me, I have to apologize."


'I know the truth Johnny'



Moss also discussed his recent defamation lawsuit against his ex-partner Johnny Depp and his ex-wife Amber Heard.


Moss and Depp were in a relationship between 1994 and 1998, and she testified on his behalf during the defamation case.


Hurd mentioned a rumor that Depp pushed Moss down the stairs when they were together, but Moss said: "I know the truth about Johnny.


"I know he never kicked me down the stairs.


"I had to tell that truth."

Speaking via video link from Gloucestershire, Moss told the court she instead fell down the stairs, hurt her back, and Depp came to her aid.


1
$ 0.00
Avatar for sahidul_islam
1 year ago

Comments