Stepping out of my comfort zone

0 20
Avatar for rosienne
1 year ago

Finally, I got the confidence to step out of my most comfortable zone. One of the reasons was self-improvement. As you can see most of my articles were written in Tagalog. Yeah, that was my comfort zone because I can easily create and speak my thoughts through writing in my Language. Well, the truth is I am not born Tagalog. I came from a small Barangay at Tinambac, Camarines Sur and we speak Bicol Language with different dialects according to City and Barangays we lived in. As you can see Tagalog is not also my Mother's tongue. We can just easily adopt Tagalog because we often hear it from time to time. When I was a kid I have to ask my mom what is the meaning of this or that Tagalog word because I don't know. But when I start attending school I easily understand what was written in the books because I read from time to time and also thanks to my mentor/teacher who guide me to understand everything. One big factor that helps us a lot in understanding and speaking Tagalog was the television and radio.

Most people here in the Philippines can speak Tagalog and English as well but I am one of those who can't speak very well. From now on, I will make an article using English Language. This is my first step in making a change. Even though I am not that very confident but I want to try. I want to make a change because I am tired of hiding and keeping my old self. I also want to be able to communicate with my children properly. I guess we have a little Language barrier because I often speak Tagalog while they speak English. I don't know how they ended up talking in English but maybe because of Youtube and Television. I am guilty of not teaching them our Language because they ended up talking in a foreign. At some point, they got positive feedback and impressions from people but when I remember what Dr. Jose Rizal once said "ANG HINDI MARUNONG MAGMAHAL SA SARILING WIKA AY HIGIT PA SA HAYOP AT MALANSANG ISDA" I felt terrible and sorry for them. Good thing is that they are now homeschooling and their modules were using Tagalog except for the English subject but the rest was all written in Tagalog. I am having a hard time managing my time to teach and do household chores. They can't fully understand what was written in their modules but I was trying my best to interpret what was written. I am doing my best right now but it seems like it was not enough. I have to keep going and be strong. So that I can easily express myself to them.

I have many thoughts running through my mind right now. I want to do this, I want to do that. I want to try this and I want to try that. Something like that! But the crucial thing in making the change was consistency in doing what you want. If I want to step up then I need to step up no matter what happens. Consistency is the key! Even if I can't do it easily I will do it slowly, step by step until I can step out of my comfort zone and that starts now. Maybe it's not a big deal for you but it is, for me. Someone may laugh because it seems so funny and simple but this one is bigger for me than you can imagine. We are not in the same shoes. Find your size and I will find mine.

One of the reasons for this change is not to impress anyone but to make myself believe that I can do anything. I need this kind of mindset right now. I have to convince myself that I can do something. Something that can prove that my negative thinking is wrong. We have every right to choose and do anything we want. We have that kind of freedom. Set yourself free from darkness and the pit you are in. We are all capable of stepping out.

Have courage and believe in yourself!

2
$ 4.28
$ 4.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rosienne
1 year ago

Comments