Traveling with a light suitcase.

19 54
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

We have reached the end of the month, tomorrow is the last day of August. Thankful to God for having health above all things. To be here in read.cash sharing with new friends, I am infinitely grateful to my dear sponsors and to the people who follow me. To all of you thank you very much for your company.

Time goes by so fast that I am surprised. These days I have been reading articles about Christmas. I am surprised that in some countries as early as September they start preparing and planning for Christmas. In my country, I remember as a child that in September and October they began to hear Christmas songs, the bagpipes. I remember that the facades of the houses were decorated from October with Christmas lights, it was like a competition of who decorated more beautiful. And the streets and squares were covered with Christmas lights. Everything was so special because Christmas was already in the air since September.

 I started to think about the traditions of my country, which we have as a custom to await the arrival of the New Year, and that even in times of pandemic are still in force. We have many traditions, but the one I want to mention today is a very special tradition because I want to reflect on it. Later on, in other articles, I will continue to deal with other traditions. Today I will talk about the tradition of the suitcase.

In Venezuela, we have a custom or tradition when a year ends. At the sounding of the 12 bells announcing that the old year ends and a new year begins people take out a suitcase and go out to the street to walk, according to the belief the farther you walk with the suitcase the longer the trip you will possibly make during the year, or it can be several trips, you never know, it all goes on the faith of the person who goes out with the suitcase. So at that time of the new year, you can see neighbors leaving their homes with suitcases.

From unsplash


It is a tradition that many people say has worked for them, that if they have gone on a trip. It is not known what they carry inside the suitcases. There are people who put everything in a suitcase, they can put a lot of clothes, coats, even a lot of shoes. And so they want to take a trip to change their environment, to find new opportunities in quality of life or simply for the adventure.

People think about traveling, and that's why they do this ritual. They spend years repeating the ritual, but they are always the same people, with the same habits and customs. They do not change. They are people who also put their fears, grudges and bad memories in their suitcases. There the suitcase becomes heavy in their journey through life.

People that even passing one and another year, they become adults, old and remain the same. They live with fears of traumas they have not been able to overcome. Traumas that marked their childhood and they still live it in their adult life. They live with fears that do not allow them to prosper, to advance. They are afraid of failure, of what others will say, of other people's opinion. They do not take flight for fear of falling. They have a suitcase full of fears.

From unsplash


They also fill it with resentment. That feeling of hatred binds a person in such a way that does not let him reach peace. That peace nourishes the soul and the spirit. They carry a suitcase full of resentment, with a broken and wounded heart for lack of forgiveness. They have not forgiven themselves and live without forgiving. The bad memories they have lived do not let them move forward. They do not let their journey through life go smoothly. They have years divorced, separated and still feed their soul and spirit by remembering those bad times.


They live an adult life full of childhood traumas. They feed their soul and spirit with those memories. How many people do not live happily because they are tied to sad memories of the past. They carry a heavy suitcase with bad memories.

That is why I always say, what good is it if you fill your suitcase with fine clothes, with elegant coats, with brand name shoes and you want to start a new year, to travel, to start a new experience in another city or country. What good is that if you also take your fears, your grudges and bad memories with you. Your journey wherever life takes you will not be one of peace and tranquility, you will not have a free life, with joy and happiness. Your journey will not be light.

Free yourself from everything that binds you, that makes your life heavy, free yourself from those feelings and emotions that do not let you be free, that do not let your journey through life be one of happiness, peace, tranquility and joy. Start with forgiveness. Open your heart. May your suitcase be light, may you go far.
 If you had to travel before the end of the year, what would you pack in your suitcase?

I thank all my sponsors for the support they give me. To my followers and friends who always read and comment, you are the best!

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty


13
$ 11.31
$ 10.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 6
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

This is a good read and thank you so much for reminding us to have light baggages.

By the way, that custom and tradition you mentioned about your country is interesting too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, here in my country we have many traditions at Christmas time. Thanks for your comment. Happy day to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you too and enjoy your day as well :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many people, myself included, sometimes don't realize how we accumulate baggage over time and instead of discarding those that don't do us good to free ourselves and live less stressful lives, we keep piling them up. Then before we know it, we are so weighed down by them and begin to think we are failures, or we can never get to a better place. We should also do spring cleaning in our lives to free us of negativity so we can be more prosperous and happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. When a person reaches that level of discovering that so intimate part of his being, after a self-analysis, is when he must decide whether to continue with that baggage that weighs so much, or that it is time to release it to continue the journey lighter. I love your comments because they are sincere, reflective. Not all comments have that level. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you... I'd like to think that if I have to leave a comment it should be worth reading, too and relates to what I read. Your posts are so insightful and I like dropping by to gain something new each time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was younger, I kept going out with my suitcase on New Year. LOL But you're right. We must go through life with light baggage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never did the ritual of the suitcase. I have learned, after many years, to let go, freeing myself of things to make the journey of life lighter. Thank you for your comment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

here in our country, people starts decorating Christmas decor on september. Then, when decemeber starts the kids go house to house carolling. I was one of those children who join the house to house carolling and we get around $10 everyday. Then we divided it with how many people joined then eat some food after

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this....I have learnt much on forgiveness here and I know where I need to make ammends....Christmas came early from September 😄😄 I guess people can't wait anymore. This month has been challenging but all thanks to God we are alive and strong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, thank God we have health. We have to think positive, beautiful things and Christmas lends itself to that. Thank God you are working on the forgiveness part. I liked your comment. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true that our customs were so nice at Christmas. Listening to the bagpipes for September gave our imagination a lot of flavor as we looked forward to the days of gathering with friends and family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right sister. Now it's kind of more private. Now it's in each house. You don't see as many lights in streets and squares. and you don't hear the bagpipes as before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh wow that's a really cool tradition I didn't know that that symbolizes how long you'll walk the year. I think it's endearing and really motivational. I like it and the message behind it. it warms my heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked my message. Thank you for your comment, I am looking forward to filling that suitcase with good wishes and financial prosperity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your content ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your tradition sounds cool. I'd love to walk on the street with my suitcase all day. I want to meet Santa in the North Pole. Who knows, I'll travel that far hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha... I won't go with you to the north pole... hahaha... I don't like the cold... thanks for your funny comment. cheers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh haha. Cause here in the Philippines, we don't have snow. You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago