The monkey's world day

2 30
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Sometimes I don't know what to write. I spend the day thinking about what story I can tell. My strategy when I can't get content out of my mind is to surf the internet, google it or go to YouTube. I'm not revealing anything new, all of us who dedicate ourselves to writing have some days with literary inspiration in airplane mode. So I resort to the same thing everyone does: surfing. Searching with interest I read something that caught my attention, on December 14 is celebrated the world day of the monkey.

I never thought that monkeys had a special day to celebrate. According to what I could find out, the origins of this peculiar celebration are unknown. It could be said that it was some students from the University of Michigan who started it in 2003.

What I can say is that the mind is activated by any memory stored in the subconscious. When I read about World Monkey Day I immediately remembered Goyo. He was a marmoset monkey, one of those monkeys that they use in the circus and dress him up with clothes.

I was about ten years old when the monkey Goyo, the name given to him by my father when he saw him for the first time, suddenly appeared in the yard of my mother's house. No one ever knew where he came from, but we knew why he came to our yard. There we had a very big mango tree. At the top of the tree was always Goyo eating ripe mango.

Days went by and Goyo the monkey began to trust us humans at home. He would come down from the mango tree and walk around the yard very calmly. Soon Goyo monkey was like part of the herd... not to say family... and we got used to him, he always made us laugh with his funny antics.

Eventually, my mother noticed something strange in the henhouse she kept in the backyard. The hens hadn't laid any eggs for days. Mom noticed it strange because my mom knew the coop very well and there was never a lack of two or three eggs a day. Mom decided to spy on her coop, until she discovered the mystery of the coop.
It wasn't the hens that stopped laying eggs, it was the monkey Goyo who was stealing the eggs. Mom watched as Goyo took the eggs one by one, and took them to the end of the yard, and there with a small stone and very carefully made a hole in the eggshell and then sucked out the contents, leaving the eggshell almost intact but completely empty. Mom got all the missing eggs completely empty and arranged them in a corner.

The monkey Goyo became to be a problem. My mom didn't know how to protect the eggs anymore. Goyo always got there first to steal the eggs. So my dad decided to put Goyo in a big cage he had in the backyard.

Ever since I was little I have never liked to put animals in cages, I don't like to see them in cages, I want to see them free. I was very sad to see Goyo the monkey in a cage. But I don't really remember if Goyo would be affected by being there. I don't remember that. What I do remember was why my dad decided to take him away from home and set Goyo free.

It turns out that Goyo the monkey touched his sexual organs very often and performed with his hands a natural act in the animal (and sometimes human) species that I will not mention here. And one day my dad came to the yard and noticed that my sisters and I were playing near the cage. My dad saw Goyo's act and decided to take him far away from home, I remember it was over a mountain, that's how they named him. And that's how Goyo the monkey won his freedom.

Going back to World Monkey Day, I also learned that it is not the only date dedicated to primates, since on July 14 they celebrate World Chimpanzee Day and on August 19 World Orangutan Day. I remember when I saw an orangutan for the first time, but it was not in my backyard, it was not there, it was many years ago in a zoo that I visited on a vacation trip I made to England, but that is another story for another day, it may be for the next August 19, on the World Orangutan Day, if God allows me.

And you do know that December 14th is World Monkey Day?

Thank you for your comments.

Thanks to my followers and sponsors for their constant support. You are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from: unsplash.com

4
$ 3.79
$ 3.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 2
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

we also have a pet monkey but were sent to the mountains by my father because it was fighting my grandma.. the monkey was a female and she likes my grandfather. she was always sweet with my grandfather then once she sees my grandmother, she would pull her hair, bite her and it was not fun anymore...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen an Orangutan when I was a lil younger and he was aggresive he pulled my hair!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago