Look what I Do with the Mother-in-Law's Tongue.

10 35
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

This weekend I was quite busy. First I attended my granddaughter's weekend visit, then on Sunday, April 3rd, it was my oldest son's birthday. He's 37 years now and it seems like yesterday. Time goes by so fast.

Early Sunday morning, I set out to make the cake with my neighbor. She offered to make the cake but at her house, so I spent the morning at my neighbor's house preparing the cake. In the evening we sang "Happy Birthday", a song that is like a hymn for birthdays, we sang it with several neighbors that we invited. Something super simple and we did it in the dark because we had no electricity, the light had gone out just at the beginning of the night. We were 4 hours without electricity.

Today was calmer because I was alone at home, well, there was also my pet Ambar. My son took his daughter to work and from there, in the afternoon, he was going to leave her with her mother. So in the morning, I devoted myself to my garden.

Among the plants I recovered from the drought in my yard is Sansevieria Trifasciata, commonly called in my country as "mother-in-law's tongue", although I have also heard it named as "St. George sword". In other countries it is called "cow's tongue, African sword". This plant is native to tropical West Africa as far as Nigeria.

The one I have here at home has green leaves with yellow vertical edges, very shiny, hard and erect leaves, they can reach heights of more than 50 centimeters. They are very resistant to the sun, at least the ones I have survived without my care under an inclement sun and with little water.

It is a plant widely used for interior decoration, it adapts very well under shade. A curious and very important fact is that the "mother-in-law's tongue" plant is recognized by NASA as a plant that purifies the natural environment. It is ideal to place it in small spaces such as closed offices or in the bathrooms of our house, as it eliminates certain toxins and bad odors.

Look what I did with mother-in-law's tongue.

I decorated the clay pot where the "mother-in-law's tongue" plant is located with the stones that I took from my patio and that I had painted between Friday and Saturday. I painted the big stone as a country house, painted some ladybugs and two small stones I gave details with cold ceramic paint to make them look like two little birds. In my two previous articles I told you about the process of painting the stones, I invite you to read them if you haven't done it yet.

So being alone at home I could concentrate better and I put together a whole composition in the clay pot, I made a country scene with all the stones, and I added small colored stones and a small clay vase where I placed small blue stones to give the appearance that they had water.

I hope you like my composition with the "mother-in-law tongue" plant, if you have any comments about it I will be glad to answer you in the comments. Thanks to my followers and sponsors for your constant support. You are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

PS: Pictures were taken on my phone

8
$ 5.23
$ 5.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Aimure
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
+ 3
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

I have seen this plant before, but never have I bothered to check for the name. You decorated it nicely though, I must admit the title caught me off-guard. Good wishes to your son for his birthday

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the good wishes for my son, I will let him know... I put the title with the intention of drawing attention to his reading. Thank you for reading and commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday in arrears to your boy... May his new age bring him all the best things life has on offer

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. How nice of you to tell me that... I will gladly let my son know... thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that's totally different from what we called in that plant. We called it Snake Plant. I have that plants too many in my garden in the front. They are good serving as fence to other plants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right, they serve as a fence. You just gave me an idea. Because I need to make a separation of spaces in the yard. Thank you. You've helped me without realizing it....jajajaja

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I had very different expectations of this conversation after reading the title first!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I wanted to give it a title that would attract attention... and it worked.....jajajajajaja...thanks for telling me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In our country most of the people call that plant as the snake plant. I really don't know the reason why it was called a snake plant here but that's the named I am hearing that plant was.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The blade is hard and has a sharp point, it looks like a snake's tongue. I think that's where the name snake tongue comes from. Thanks for commenting

$ 0.00
2 years ago