Jaspe, God's jewel in the Gran Sabana.  

8 38
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

I remember that when we arrived that night, we were all tired from the long trip we had made since early in the morning, to see the fullness of the Gran Sabana jungle and to see the Chinak-Meru waterfall. All of us who were on the tour, at that time, went straight to our rooms in the hotel where we were staying, in the city of Santa Elena de Uairen. I remind you that I did the tour in August 2013.  If you want to read my experience when I met the second highest waterfall in Venezuela, I invite you to look for my article When I met the Chinak Meru Falls.

La Gran Sabana, Venezuela

When we went down for dinner, the tour guide gave directions to the next stop the next morning. We go to the Jasper Waterfall (Kako Parú), a semi-precious stone where the falls are. A work of God. I could not believe it. Ah, it was also important to wear socks on your feet, yes, literally, socks on your feet.  

Early after breakfast, we were going to bathe in a precious stone and we had to wear socks. We all asked for an explanation as to why we had to wear that special garment, but he said that when we got to jasper creek we would know why we had to wear stocks.  

That night I was very curious, especially because I have always been curious to know about semiprecious stones, I have even had pets named after stones. I remember Gema Violet, and now I have my beloved pet Ambar (Amber). A long time ago I had a little dog named Perla (Pearl).

Back to the story, I remember that we left early, all in the transport we went to kilometer 275, which is where the Jaspe waterfalls are located, in the Gran Sabana. The road is paved, easy to access, thank God, I thought at that moment, because my body was still a little sore from the ride in the 4x4 jeep. If you have read my article that I recommended you to read you will understand why I am saying this here, about the ride... hahahaha.

When we arrived at the place, we all got off the transport and started walking through the jungle. We went through a wooded trail. Lots of vegetation. It is a wonderful experience, the sound of the jungle and its pure air. We did not walk very far. After a while, we started to hear from other people who were already there.

Have you ever taken a bath inside a semi-precious stone? Literally. The whole creek is made of a huge semi-precious Jasper stone. I was always in awe of God's greatness, and to have life to enjoy it.

It is an immense slab of bright red, the Jasper waterfalls on a huge smooth slab of about 300 meters (980 feet) long. At that moment I understood the reason for the socks on my feet. If you don't have socks on, you can't walk through the water that is only a few centimeters deep. Just a little above the ankles. If you don't wear socks, you slip and fall to the ground.

Jasper Waterfalls, Gran Sabana, Venezuela

On the ground there are no stones or sand, it is all a large slab of jasper, bright red when the midday sun hits it. It looks like a big slide, in fact people slide as if they were in one because the water depth is shallow. A natural wonder.  

At the beginning of the immense slab, on the right side, at the bottom, you find a large sculpture of jasper stone, which time and water have carved as if it were a huge natural staircase, huge steps from where a fall of water descends. People stand under the waterfall and receive a natural massage, water that comes down with force and massages the back, shoulders and head ... I didn't want to get out of there. The water came wonderfully, mostly because of the tiring previous day's journey. You have to be careful with your clothes, because the force of the water can slide your clothes and leave your beautiful body exposed... hahaha... in fact the tour guide commented on that opportunity, that in one of the tours a girl's bikini top came off and she didn't realize that, until she was told. I can imagine the grief that girl went through.  

There we spent most of the morning and some of the afternoon. Then we all went back to the hotel, back to Santa Elena de Uairen.

 I remember those moments with joy and emotion. I will never erase from my mind those days of peace, of breathing pure air, of contemplating the wonders of God, in the journey through the Gran Sabana, of my beautiful and beloved Venezuela.  

This is a true story, lived in August 2013. They are beautiful memories that I want to share with all of you in the community of reasd.cash. Thanks to my dear sponsors and readers for making me live those moments of my life, a wonderful adventure, in the Jasper ravine, a semi-precious stone, God's jewel in the jungle of my beautiful Venezuela.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from: https://www.navicu.com/blog/parque-nacional-canaima-los-7-lugares-mas-sorprendentes-que-debes-visitar/


5
$ 3.71
$ 3.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Pearlkel
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 2
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

I never thought there's a place such that..you are blessed to experience it.. i might not be able to go there myself so thanks a lot for making me feel like I had been there too...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was blessed to go once. And I want someday to go back again, to contemplate that wonderful grandeur of nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

was blessed to go once. And I want someday to go back again, to contemplate that wonderful grandeur of nature.

oh you should and take more pictures!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so amazing. God's work in nature is so inestimable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being in that place is wonderful. You breathe a different air. May God grant me the joy of seeing it again someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, what a vibrant red, indeed!

To be honest, I got a bit scared when I first saw it, I thought the water is red LOL. Venezuela has a lot of beautiful places.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The water is crystal clear, completely colorless. The semi-precious stone is called Jasper and is bright red when the midday sun hits it. Remember that it is in the jungle of the Gran Sabana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, so I can clearly see the semi-precious Jasper stones. Incredible creation of God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago