How often do you Upload Selfies?

18 45
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

The behaviour of human beings always has a meaning at a psychological level, which allows us to discover the reason for certain behaviours that are repeated in our daily routine. What drives us to repeat behaviours? We have routines that we think are unimportant, but at the subconscious level, without realising it, we bring out the essence of how we are in some aspects of our lives.

Many years before the pandemic we are already interacting with people through social networks. Without knowing a person personally, we add them on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram. And we only have that person's photos that we see in their posts. The photos or motivational images we post on social networks tell us much more than we imagine. Through the photos we post on social networks we are giving a message to other people that we don't even know ourselves. Do you want to know what messages you transmit to the world with your photos and images?, I think this is a very interesting topic to develop in today's article.

There are people who constantly upload photos of themselves, selfies have been very popular in recent years. But as a very popular saying in my country goes "everything in excess is bad", but what is "bad" about uploading photos, there is nothing wrong with doing that, but what is the meaning of constantly repeating this behaviour? In people who can't stop repeating this behaviour, who are constantly uploading selfies all day long, it can be an indicator of emotional problems, it is an obsessive behaviour called selfitis.

As referred to above, the subject is very interesting and worth investigating, according to the American Psychiatric Association, selfies can become a mental disorder. People suffering from selfitis have an obsessive compulsive desire to take pictures of themselves and post them on social media, as a lack of self-esteem and a desire to fill a void in intimacy.

As far as I have been able to research selfitis has three levels of disorder. Selfitis borderline, when the person takes at least three selfies a day, but does not upload them to social media, but keeps them on their mobile phone without posting them. Then we have the level of acute selfitis, when they take three selfies a day and post each of them on social media, but do not leave them only on their mobile phone. Finally, we have chronic selfitis, when the person reaches a level of uncontrollable impulse to take selfies all the time, every moment, and uploads them to social media more than six times a day, every day. As far as I could research there is no cure for this illness (obsessive-compulsive disorder) seltifis, the treatment is temporary with cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT).

As I said before, everything in excess is bad, and this applies to all acts in life. The obsession with posting selfies becomes a mania that could cover up insecurities and low self-esteem, it is a matter of doing a self-analysis, and identifying the number of times you post selfies and start taking action.

Likewise, what do the images with motivational phrases that we choose to post on social networks indicate? I just want to point out that from a psychological point of view, a photo or image can say much more than just being a photo or image. By posting motivational phrases, we are performing an act of self-programming. There is a saying: "tell me what you post and I'll tell you what you lack", and it applies here. People are inspired to post and evidence a lack of that motivation they post on social media.

To conclude, if you are one of those people who are interested in uploading your selfies to the web, post interesting photos, not just of yourself "posing", but natural photos, photos that reflect your hobbies, your creativity, your family environment. Doing it in a natural way, without posing, in a subtle way, makes the photos more interesting and reflects in this way that you are a self-confident person, confirming a successful personal and professional development.

Now I am waiting for your comments, are you creative in posting your photos on social media? how many times a day do you post your selfies?

Thank you for joining me here, I would like to take a picture with all of you.

Please, a selfie, everyone say: read.cash!

Thanks to my followers and sponsors for smiling with me, for continuing to read my posts, you guys rock.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from unsplash.com




11
$ 6.12
$ 5.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
+ 4
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

yo no me hago selfies eso es para la chicas que siempre estan lindas , solo me he he hecho una en vida solo por que me la pidio una amiga... acabo de publicar mi primer articula por fa si les puedes dar un vistazo y comentar https://read.cash/@emanuel78_/caracoles-en-su-tinta-0414e6f3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I didn't know they already had a term for that. I saw some videos of people who are obsessed with selfies and social media to the point of psychosis, it's scary. I don't take selfies, well, I do, but it can be months between one and the other. First I don't have a phone, and two, I don't like how I look in my pictures haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Selfitis is a mental illness, as you rightly say they reach the point of psychosis in their chronic state of obsession to take selfies. I don't have a phone either, and to publish a photo I have to choose it among several that I have taken (quality control... hahahaha) I am always looking for my best angle to improve the image because as you say I don't like the way I look in the photos, but it's a matter of knowing which is the best angle. Greetings my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not into posting selfies. I don't suffer from selfitis, hehe. I'm quite reserved, to tell the truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm like that too my friend. Thanks for taking the time to stop and read what I write, it's always a pleasure to hear from you. Greetings my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very interesting post. I don't count myself in any of them. Taking selfies is not my thing. Taking pictures of my plants to post there if I sign up. I know a lot of people with this pathology. And at different levels.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sister. I actually haven't taken any pictures of myself because I don't have a mobile phone...hehehe...but still, I'm too reserved in my private life to expose it in public. A friend of mine was the one who inspired me to write the article, she can't do without uploading her photo on the net. Thank you beautiful sister for your valuable comment. Greetings to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

once in every month..ehehe to change profile picture.. i am not very into posting selfies

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Still, little is not bad..haha.... thanks for stopping by to read my content. You are much appreciated for that time invested in me, thanks again. Regards to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no biggies dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not fond of selfies, so I don't take them, and am annoyed by people who have to take selfies for every little thing they do.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same here, I get annoyed by some people's behavior too. we already know that people who do that all the time are because they have an obsessive-compulsive urge and that it's a lack of self esteem and to fill a void in their personal life. Thank you for your comment, as always very grateful to you for reading my content, it is very much appreciated. Regards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember uploading a selfie picture years ago. I am not confident with how I lool, so my SNS are all almost empty of my selfies. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same, I haven't uploaded my photo to the net for a while. not because I don't have confidence, it's because I don't have a cellphone.... thanks for reading my content and commenting, for me it is of great value that you have stopped a time with me. thanks, Greetings to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. Hmmm. Since pandemic starts I don't post my picture online. I don't have confidence to post my picture because I neglected myself hehe I gain weight. No one can see me because of lockdown why self care char! 😅😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before the pandemic, I don't post my personal photos either, and since I started leaving my hair natural I do it less often, always taking care of my image in front of the public. Now I accept my grey hair, it's part of my body, and now I don't care about people's opinions when they tell me to dye my hair. My photos are natural because that's who I am. I liked your comment, you are natural and sincere, straight to the point. I like people like that. Regards

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a very private person. So I seldom post photos on social media. I mean my photos. But photos that does not include me will surely make it online.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same, I'm very private about myself. I have a long time without posting. Thanks for your comment, I really appreciate it. Best regards to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago