Beginning a new stage

3 40
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

“Grandma, Grandma, I have started a new stage in my life!” In this very uneasy manner my 6 year old granddaughter approached me when we met in the morning. Of course, with such an alarming expression I asked her what was wrong. She replied, "Grandma, my first tooth is loose!

There is always a first time for every stage of life. Regardless of the age difference between me and my granddaughter, here I am, also starting a new experience as a writer.

Being of a sanguine temperament I am always looking to meet people, having pleasant conversations, giving timely advice and try to enjoy the moment even in times of tribulations. With the pandemic, a good sanguine suffers a lot, since we cannot leave the house to talk with friends as we used to do before. We don't talk directly to anyone, there is no physical contact. Thank God I also have some melancholic temperament, I adapt to changes and now I feel calm to write.

I have been divorced for 14 years. I have taken different paths, always inspired as a Christian woman, to look for the purpose that makes me enjoy every moment with love.

Psychopedagogist by profession, dedicated for many years to school leveling in learning difficulties, psychologist by inspiration, with experience in Neurolinguistic Programming (NLP) and always supported by the Word of God. In recent years, my friends have asked me for advice, guidance in situations of stress, anguish and loneliness.

In Venezuela, the country where I live, we have a crisis at all social and economic levels due to the situation that most of the nations know. In addition to all that is happening here, now we have the pandemic. In Venezuela we have a traditional saying: “eramos muchos y parió la abuela” (“we were many people and grandma gave birth”)... referring to the fact that we live in times of need of food, medicine, health, education, gasoline and and much more, and now we also have the coronavirus. How not to have anguish and stress in Venezuela!

I spend quality time in my backyard, taking care of fruits bearing plants and other edible plants such as aromatic herbs. This relaxes me and gives me emotional and spiritual peace. I have banana, plantain, papaya, lemon, orange, passion fruit, medlar, avocado, pumpkin, watermelon, sweet potato, tomato, chili, paprika, oregano, basil, mint, hibiscus, Jamaica flower and spinach plants. Some have already given me fruit, others are growing beautifully waiting for their time to bear fruit in the future.

I also do landscaping in pots using a variety of succulents and cactus. I can make small landscapes, walkways, insects elaborated with colored stones. I use the same compost from my yard and make great natural beauties in small pots.

In the evenings I enjoy a hot mint, basil or lemon balm tea. Sometimes I prepare tasty sauces or creams with the different aromatic plants, to accompany steamed potatoes (or any other vegetable). My granddaughter loves my sauces.

I am 62 years old and and I am a funny person, I look for the good in difficult moments, and in Venezuela we have had many difficult moments. I always try my best with positive thoughts. I am an entrepreneur, a fighter, always looking for new opportunities.

Like my granddaughter, starting this new stage of my life writing my thoughts with you, makes me be very excited, because I can transcend my words with each reader friend, as if I were talking face to face to you all. So, I am very grateful for the invitation given by my sister Gertudis Rodriguez (@gertu13) to belong to this prestigious platform, where I will have the opportunity to express different experiences, hoping read.cash readers will love it.

And I am sure that these last eighteen months there are thousands of cases and stories of those who with the pandemic have started new stages (and in a good way this has changed their lifestyle). Many have discovered and developed new hidden talents. Many (by destiny or vocation) have changed jobs, and many others have directly experienced the loss of a loved one. With all this, we have all started a new stage in our lives, regardless of gender, age, race or economic status.

Finally I tell you my friend reader, I am proudly Venezuelan, (and Portuguese by naturalization). That's me, my name is Carmen Rodriguez.... I have started a new stage in my life (just like my granddaughter with her first loose tooth), and I feel very happy for this!

5
$ 1.03
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.50 from @gertu13
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

Welcome. I have known gertu13 for some time from read.cash. She recommended reading your articles and that was a very good recommendation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very welcome sister to this platform. I look forward to reading your articles. This stage of your granddaughter and yours will be full of new and varied experiences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Sister.

$ 0.00
2 years ago