Roast Chicken Breasts with Mushrooms and Artichokes

0 18
Avatar for rhondajohnson
2 years ago

Jenny is constantly on the lookout for quick, weeknight dishes to feed her family. When they object, she simply eats more.

Some odd things I like in my kitchen: old Randy Travis songs, gin, antique glasses full of gin, artichokes, someone else folding the dish towels, shallots, toffee, coffee, and drabs recipes.

I've been attempting, with varying degrees of success, to prepare meals on Sunday night that my husband and I can bring for sack lunches during the week. Partly to save money (those $8 Indian food truck plate lunches and turkey in a pita add up quickly), and partly because I'd rather face my own chicken or pork tacos at 1 PM than a miserable cup of soup from the Senate carry out, which lowers me slightly like a human with every mouthful.

So I'm looking forward to digging into my handbag this week and pulling out a jar of Roast Chicken Breasts with Magic Mushrooms and Artichokes. This is your standard browned chicken dish, finished in the oven with a soft stock-infused sauce and a delightful variation with artichokes and the vastly unappreciated Worcestershire sauce.

Can we all take a minute to remember this bottle of fun in your fridge, which predates the anchovies trend as a salt zapper, tastes excellent in burgers, lasts forever, and is really difficult to pronounce?

By the time your chicken is browned and ready to go into the oven, you should have your shallots and mushrooms cut up (you can buy precut organic mushrooms if you're really in a hurry; tell any would-be Tom Colicchio hanging around your kitchen to hush, or at least open you a beer), your rosemary prepped, and your lemons squeezed. I'm not going to tell your mother if you want to use nice jarred artichokes.

Despite the fact that I only had a cup of stock in the freezer, my sauce turned out flawlessly. I believe you can prepare this sauce without the flour, but it will be much thinner — a summer blanket for a dish still yearning for cashmere.

Roast Chicken Breasts with Mushrooms and Artichokes by drabs

2 large shallots, chopped fine

8 ounces mushrooms, sliced (about 2 cups)

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

4 chicken breast halves, skin on, boned if you like

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 cups chicken stock or broth (Use your best chicken stock. You won't be sorry.)

1 1/2 cup frozen artichoke hearts (about 10), quartered, defrosted, and drained

salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

1 tablespoon butter (optional)

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary

if you want to get more information, please visit the website https://fantasyshrooms.ca/


1
$ 0.00
Avatar for rhondajohnson
2 years ago

Comments