"Importance, Goodness and Beauty of Reading"

0 16
Avatar for rhan22
Written by
3 years ago

Ever since I was a child, I have loved reading. I am very grateful to my Mom and Dad because they taught me how to read. Yes, in my school I learned a lot of different reading skills but in our home I first felt the fun and learned the importance of reading. I remember when I was in preschool level, my Mom and I were doing my homework or reading what the teacher was reading before he allowed me to play outside with my friends. When I was in elementary school, my Dad focused on reading and reviewing me every time I took exams. I used to be very happy during the holidays because I was able to go to Grandpa and Grandma to read the encyclopedia. It's fun to discover things I don't know yet and study things that are interesting to me. I also used to have fun when someone gave me a book every Christmas or my birthday. I am also very happy when we buy books at school after enrollment because I will open them and start reading. Not all day long, my reading of these books does not miss even a few hours. I am very grateful to my Grandfather because from him I developed a passion for reading newspapers. When the internet became popular, I was very happy because the selection of what I could read was wider. You have an idea maybe how much I enjoy reading, what?

Reading-is-to-the-mind-what-exercise-is-to-the-body.

What Is The Importance Of Reading?

According to the Gemm Learning website, reading has many positive effects. It says that reading is an important life skill. It is said that children who have difficulty reading can have difficulty learning (especially maybe if it is not done early). They will have a hard time finding a job, being independent and being a good citizen, parent or worker if they can graduate.

Reading is also said to be a good exercise for our brain. It is said to be more demanding than watching television or listening to the radio. Maryanne Wolf, director of the Center for Reading and Language Research at Tufts University, said that reading makes us more compelled to make a narrative and imagine. Reading means that we have more time to think. Suppose we can stop for comprehension and get the true meaning and insight (insight) of what we read. Reading also contributes to concentration and attention skills.

The website adds that reading also helps to increase our vocabulary. This is true because by reading a variety of literature we will encounter familiar and unfamiliar words. As we understand what we read, we will understand words that are new to us.

Reading also helps to increase one's self-confidence. It is said that a chain reaction occurs: if we always read, we will know a lot; when we know a lot, many people will ask us for answers about various things; when many people ask us for help, it can help us lose our self-esteem and self-confidence.

Another of the so-called good effects of reading is the sharpening of our creativity. Because we are exposed to new ideas and more information through reading, there can be a change (for the better or better) in the way we think.

We learn empathy more. It is said that the more we understand the characters of the stories we read, the more we understand how other people feel.

It rejuvenates our brains. I mentioned earlier that it is exercise, and because of this it is always used and the chances of us having diseases like Alzheimer’s Disesase decrease.

It relieves stress. Stress-inducing hormones like cortisoli are said to decrease every time we read a book.

Reading motivates. Reading about a person or character who has passed the tests to achieve what he or she wants to achieve will give us motivation to make our personal goal come true.

We feel we are more connected to other people. When we identify with the characters of the stories we read, it helps us to feel a real-life relationship that can make us feel like we are part of a group (inclusion).

It will illuminate our day. Whether it is a good ending or small details in the story with which we can relate has a big impact on how we feel.

We can save more. Compared to watching a movie, going to amusement parks or eating out, reading is a beautiful and economical way to have fun.

Some of the added benefits of reading from the LifeHack website are:

Stronger thinking skills. By remembering and understanding what happened in what we read will hone our analytical and critical thinking skills.

Better writing skills. Also due to the stronger vocabulary, reading beautiful and well-crafted books and other literature will have a positive effect on the writing of those who read them. We can learn something from the different styles of writers of the literature we read.

The length of my blog post, what? That's okay. You are learning a lot e. The good news for that, it's not over yet because I still have some things to say. Hehe.

The Thursday Book Club! Ruel, Rosy, Isa, Meng, Sonny and I. None of the pictures first thought we would set up a book club, Zia.

Missing to have a book club. It was 2012 when we established some friends with a book club where each of us would buy a book to read and talk about it at the end of the month (one book, one month. We called it Thursday Book Club because every On Thursday we always meet and spend a few hours after work (on the last Thursday of the month) to discuss the book we read.We only have one book a month in question and the book buyer is the moderator of meeting we will have that month.Some of the books we have read and discussed are as follows: The Gospel According to Jesus Christ by Jose Saramago, World War Z by Max Brooks, The Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint- Exupery, Everything's Eventual by Stephen King, The Rose & The Beast - Fairy Tales Retold by Francesca Lia, Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua, Life of Pi by Yann Martel and Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus by John Gray. What we do when giving opinions and comments about what we read is interesting. I can say that we really broadened our perspective on different things and it helped us to understand and understand different themes and issues. I hope that in the coming new year our book club will return so that we can become more skilled and better at understanding the world we live in.

Last Word

Honestly, very good work of reading. Its many good effects like the ones mentioned above. Do you want to temporarily leave the world you live in to travel to the world of your imagination? Do you want to find temporary silence from the very busy world you live in? Would you like to meet characters who will help you understand different personalities in the real world? Above all, do you want to discover many things and understand the things that affect us? Then read on. Whatever your age now, that is not a barrier to your reading. It is never too late. Hello, find some literature and get started!

Seriously pretend to read. Hehe.

P.S.

I am very grateful for the Harry Potter and The Hunger Games films based on the popular books by J.K. Rowling and Suzanne Collins. Movies like this are encouraging and continue to encourage people, young and old, to return to reading books. Although they are fictional books, they still do a lot to make their readers love reading themselves. Right, isn't it?

2
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rhan22
Written by
3 years ago

Comments