Single Parent

7 33
Avatar for reyce
Written by
3 years ago

I was born and grow with a single parent, my mother, who was a teacher. Growing up I have observe how my mother tackled the daily struggles in raising us with her meager salary, attending the household in her spare time for most of het time, 8 hours a day was devoted in teaching her pupils, since it is her bread and butter aside from being a dedicated teacher. A teacher so strict and fearsome by many for she automitically impose punishment if someone committed mistakes, like the throwing of chalks or eraser, a slight lap on the lap by the hand or a stick. That was before the old days and I witness this when I was young.

To be a mother and a father in the family is not a joke, it is great responsibility to deal with, on how to mold the children to be a better person, to be a well disciplined individual following the right path, aside from providing good food, shelter, clothing and education. All those were not performed and given perfectly. Maybe of less attention to the family and more hours on her profession but with me I understand it and I am her helping hand.

When one members of the family got sick she handles it by her own, how difficult task it was for her, dividing her time from home to school, then to hospital with no one to turn to. Sometimes for the whole day in the hospital I will be left alone and will be visited at night time only after school activity and household chores for I have siblings to attend to.

There's no one she could share her problems be it financial, spiritual, about her profession or home problems, and no one will give advice on her whatever decision to make, if its wrong then only herself to be blame but if the outcome is good its her victory to be proud of.

When it comes to her personality she wear a facade of strong woman, no room for emotions, a command of a military to be fast and quick, an error committed has a corresponding punishment, disobeying her laws and regulations at home is great sin and must be ready for the consequences. Being irritable is understandable because she has so many things to ponder, to think about, on how things to be done without help beyond the confines of the home.

I know deep inside she is weak, she is still a woman, full of emotions for I have seen her cry when the burdens is too heavy for her. The woman I saw from her like an iron is just a mask for her not collapse in facing the challenges, to be able to go through life, and I admire her. An admiration that makes me love her more and understand her more deeply and learn to accept and hug her flaws.

Being a single mother is not a hindrance for her to be determine to give us a good future. Not all of us had made it but it is no longet her fault, for she has done her part. She has invested her time, effort, money, profession and her life just for us, setting aside her own happiness, for her happiness is to see the fruits of all her sacrifices, our success.

I salute to all single parents.

6
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for reyce
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You've said well dear... Kudos to your mom... She deserves the best thing in life, make sure you also take good care of her because she has really tried. Single parenting isn't an easy task, it takes courage and strength... I also salute single mothers or single fathers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for honoring my mother. I have taking care of her the time she became bedridden until she went into heaven. I have done my best to show my love for her for those five years, but I feel when she left, what I have done was not enough. A painful and sad goodbye and until now praying that God would forgave her and accept her in his kingdom where's no more pain and suffering but everlasting happiness.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So touching... May her soul rest on... Accept my condolences.... thanks for taking care of her

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will say thanks for engaging, with you I have open my buried emotions. How many times I have tried to write about my mother but felt weak, became emotional, slowly I regain my strength. Hoping this will be the beginning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your mom is the true definition of Wonder Woman. She has carried the load all throughout yet she persevered and continued to strive harder for the family. My salute to your mom.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for honoring my mom. Yes, a wonder woman that give wonders in our life without the use of super powers, only the innate powers of parenthood, her driving force to survive, to live decently and naturally.

$ 0.00
3 years ago