As I Wait For You | Short Story

0 59
Avatar for restcity
1 year ago

It was New Years Eve in eastern Europe, and the year was 1979. Faina was smiling and staring down at her perfectly round belly. It was almost time for the baby to arrive. The doctor had said that the baby was due around New Years, and Faina couldn’t wait to be a mother. It could be any day now. But today was the day of the New Years Eve feast with her family.

She strained and hoisted herself off her bed’s edge and went downstairs. It was getting harder and harder to get down the stairs, and Faina had awful imaginations that she would fall in pain and go into labor on the stairs. Hopefully THAT didn’t happen, but there was always the possibility.

Adrik walked over to the stairs and looked up at his wife. “Faina, need help down the stairs?”

He was already by her side before she could say “That would be nice,”.

The two shared a smile as Adrik grabbed Faina’s hand and waist and walked her down the stairs slowly. At the end of the stairs they kissed, and Adrik returned to the kitchen, where he was rinsing small potatoes.

“So we’ve agreed the baby’s name is going to be Kicker right?” Adrik laughed.

“No, no, you know I didn’t really mean that one,” Faina told her husband. “Though they do kick an awful lot.”

“Well, what is the baby’s name going to be? Elena? Aleksandr? Nazar? Vitalina? Do you think it’s going to be a boy or girl?” asked Adrik.

All those questions made Faina feel dizzy, and worried all over again about when the baby was going to come. “I don’t know yet, but let’s focus on making the feast. My parents are coming over, and your father is coming over along with your two brothers, remember?”

“Yes, yes right. But the baby is due any day now!” Adrik reminded his love. “And remember, if you need anything, anything at all, just ask me, okay?”

Faina sighed and smiled. Right. And while Adrik resumed rinsing the potatoes, Fania went to the telephone to go call her sisters. Lada, Faina’s younger sister, oughta’ be at home, but she was betting that her sister was out there in the cold, trying to find some work. Lada believed in supporting herself if there was no man to support her, and even though she had had a husband, she had left him for cheating.

Though Faina thought that Lada had no business working like a man, Faina did see why she left her husband: no one should have to stick around with a cheater.

Plus, Lada always had something funny going on so Faina might as well call her and see what she was up to.

The phone rang five times, (Faina was so bored and uncomfortable she counted) and then someone picked up.

“Lada?”

“Faina! Oh thank goodness! You’re so lucky I was in the office when you called! I was just telling the manager about how awful it is to be sent to work on the top floor all alone, when I could clearly fall to my death because the scaffolding isn’t built right, but he won’t listen to me.”

“Wait. Scaffolding? Top floor? Lada, where are you?” Faina asked, a smile already appearing on her face.

“The construction site in the next town over. I got a job here after I lost that mechanic job last month. Too many flirty men, not enough fun stuff.”

Faina laughed. “Lada, how are you going to make it over to the feast tonight if you're all the way in the next town over?”

“Oh! I almost forgot about that feast! Don’t worry, I promise I’ll make it sis. As long as I’ve got my car, I can make it to your home after work. Are you guys going to bake Fleischkuekle? Because if you two don’t then I’ll bring some over when I come down there!”

Faina laughed with a hand covering her mouth, knowing in the back of her mind it must be very rude to laugh, as she could only imagine Lada was leaned over on the building manager’s desk while he looked on, baffled with his arms crossed.

“Oh, Lada, can’t wait to see you.”

“Same here.”

The two said their goodbyes, and then Faina ended the call.

Now it was time to call Ulyama. Ulyama was a calm woman who lived south of her younger sisters, as a teacher with her husband and her son Lusky. Faina was always happy to call Ulyama, since she seemed to always know how to help Faina with her problems, and had had a baby before, so she was helping Faina with her pregnancy.

Faina dialed her sister and after the first ring, Ulyama picked up.

“Hello?”

“Ulyama! It’s me! Faina!”

“Faina? I’m in school right now! Are you in labor!? Having a contraction!?”

“No, I just called to see if you would be able to make it to dinner tonight.”

“Oh! The feast!... Oh no, Faina I forgot about the feast! I don’t know if I’ll be able to make it! It takes hours and hours to get up north and I’ve got to teach school and… I’m sorry, Faina. I guess I’ll have to come tomorrow.”

Faina’s eyebrows lowered as she frowned. Ulyama had to make it! Her big sister, her responsible sister, how had she not gotten ready to leave for Faina’s house? But then, she did have a school job, so it did make sense since she’d have to work first. Still, putting work in front of family?

“Aw… Ulyama…” Faina whined.

“I know, I know, I’m sorry. But I promise, we will get over to you by tomorrow.”

Silence came between them, as either sister stood awkwardly by their phones.

“Well then… see you tomorrow I guess.” said Faina on a rather bum note.

“Yeah,” her sister replied.

And then Faina ended the call.

Faina gasped.

“Everything okay!?” Adrik leaned his head out of the kitchen.

“Yes,” Faina replied.

“Then what’s with the gasp?”

“It’s just, I hung up on Ulyama without properly saying goodbye. I’ve got half of me wanting to call her back to say goodbye the right way, and half of me that thinks I should leave it be. After all, she is working,”

“Yeah, you ought to leave it be now,” Adrik said, losing interest and returning to the kitchen.

But then, Faina gasped again. This time, it was the baby. Adrik rushed Faina to the hospital, and a long while later, Anoushka was born. All of Adrik’s family made it to see the little baby girl, and Faina’s parents and sisters made it as well. For Faina and Adrik, it was the happiest day of their lives.


I just started a writers club community! Join it if you like to make/read stories like this!

My name is Shila Williams. I am 16 years-old, and I’ve had a passion for writing and drawing ever since I could spell. I grew up in North Carolina, as well as lived and traveled abroad. I write to inspire kids' minds to imagine and take them on a fun and adventurous journey.

I'm now a published author! Please support my debut book! Check it out here on Amazon! https://www.amazon.com/Imagination-Shila-Williams-ebook/dp/B09YXKWZJX/ref=sr_1_1?crid=15MR85DQDQCA&keywords=imagination+shila+williams&qid=1651670532&sprefix=imagination+shila%2Caps%2C173&sr=8-1

I've got NFT's!Meet the Algo Green Girls! Love for the planet and all its inhabitants, big or small. There will only ever be 50 Algo Green Girls.You can find them hereon Ab2.gallery!: https://ab2.gallery/address/VFJRN2LQ3F6I65YKQIMF6ULSYVF3B5HJRNLOQMTYTBNPJQNSYJANGFL6KUAlgo

Pound Cakes NFT's: https://ab2.gallery/address/DBPARDMD7RJVHFWJZPMB7XND3LCCLP42ZZOAY55AKONHOVFLY7DCXO57KUThanks for reading!

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for restcity
1 year ago

Comments