Settle down!!

6 12
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

I grew up in a society where everyone says to a girl, "settle down". No one will ever say, stand out and make your path. It's okay if they don't say that. But the judgment, social punishment that comes with this is enormous. Not everyone can bear that.

Image Source

Ah...I know so many women from my relatives to friends, they give up, they settle down. Ią„¤ Mena I have no clash if anyone loves to settle down. But who doesn't want that, forcing that person is a sin.

Need example?

I can remember I brought a pair of skating shoes with my first scholarship money after five grade. Our society is not yet ready to see a girl skating along. And think about what the reaction was 20 years ago! I had to quit, it was more than the social pressure than my family pressure. Still, this aches my heart.

This is just a silly example. There are so many other major examples I can give from my life. Think what the number will be if every woman comes with their own struggle stories!!

Settle down, don't talk, never argue, obey your man...

Image Source

Social values, cultural perspective, and religion - when all this influences a woman's life; she doesn't have many places to go rather settle down.

I'm not misjudging those who are not working women, please don't get me wrong. There's nothing more beautiful than having a family. But when a woman has to sacrifice so many things, can't even talk for herself, can't spend a penny for her care. That's what bothers me. Also, I know men have different struggles. As a woman, I can only talk about my story, right.

Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty

As a mom of a boy, I sometimes feel blessed that he doesn't have to go through the same struggle. Yes, a boy also has to struggle, in different ways. But again, I think what I'm doing/teaching him so he can never say to a woman to settle down rather make the path of any woman to walk on.

Huh...miles to go before I sleep...

3
$ 3.47
$ 3.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
$ 0.02 from @Sequoia
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It depends on environments, some don't allow women to engage in some activities/work to get income. Some just asummed women to stay and Recieve whatsoever they are giving and not to go out to make means too. Though some areas, they have their reasons of such acts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter what are the reasons behind it, we never consider solving the issues rather choose to oppress women. Because it's easier. I have seen so many cases, I heard so many stories; it breaks my heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a woman, we also have rights, freedom and dreams to pursue. We shouldn't let society's opinion take that away from us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish every woman could fight for their right. But it's so difficult in many ways and for many reasons.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you wrote very nice, unfortunately in my country, women do not have many rights, and this is really annoying, we are also human, and when we see such treatment in ourselves, we feel inferior, our pride is destroyed, and we are crushed, but we still have to smile and move on with our lives, because we have no choice but to face powerful and dictatorial governments...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for getting me. The world is really tough for many women. People don't even believe some of the stories, maybe because that doesn't happen in their part of the world. But women are oppressed in so many ways. Even in very modern society. I wish I could see a better world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago