Rice cake, Milk, and coconut - A delicious combo.

9 20
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Soft rice cake with milk and coconut - what could go wrong with it? I could probably eat it all day, every day.

We call this dish "Dudh Citoi" which means milk and rice cake. The making process of rice cake is simple. It only requires rice flour/fine ground rice and a pinch of salt. You can watch the tutorial on YouTube if you want to take it at home. This time I made this dish with store-bought cake.

I'm going to share how I combined the cake with the milk and other ingredients.

Let's see what we need.

  • Rice cake

  • Whole milk

  • Condensed milk

  • UHT milk

  • Sugar

  • Coconut flecks

  • Cinnamon, cardamom, clove, and bay leaves.

Let's see the details.

  • This is how Bangladeshi Citoi/rice cake usually looks like. Fluffy and soft. It doesn't have much flavor, we enjoy it with jaggery milk, and sometimes with different salsa also.

  • I break it into pieces, you can add the whole cake to the milk too.

  • The preparation of the milk is vital here because this will add all the flavor to the cakes. I took 1/2 liter of whole milk, 1/4 cup of condensed milk, and half a cup of UHT milk to prepare the milk.

  • Mix them together and put them to a boil. I added a little bit of cinnamon, bay leaves, cardamom, and a clove. It will help to enhance the flavors.

  • Let the milk boil for a while and add half a cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of coconut flecks. The. boil the mixture in low heat for another couple of minutes.

  • If you want to make the rice cake too soft add them to the hot mixture. But I like them to be less soft as they will soak all the milk and will be more fluffy and soft.

  • Let them cool for half an hour to two hours in the freezer a d enjoy.


Doesn't it look delicious?

The process is very simple but the fragrance of coconut and the spices make it so delicious. You also add jaggery instead of sugar or other sugar alternatives as well. We sometimes make it with date jaggery, that is a real delicacy.

I hope you like my recipe. Have a good day, everyone.


3
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @Winx1988
$ 0.01 from @MizLhaine
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Looks like so yummy. I love to try it once.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure, it's really delicious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is something that I never tried, but I would like to try this , if I have time,I like food that contains coconut and rice cake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know this is a very local dish. But you can make the milk this way and add any other kind of rice cake if you like.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never have I ever encountered that one in my whole life, and, this first encounter tells me to try it. The dish is really interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know, it's a very local dish. That's why. But you can try this with any kind of rice cake that's available to you. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! 😲 One of the delicious food you have my friend. I feel like I'm craving right now with this kind of food my friend. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊😊 This dish is is so very Asian, hahaha. You can try this with other kind of rice cakes too. Thanks for appreciating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow I love it my friend. 🥰❤️ I want to try other rice cakes. 🤤

$ 0.00
1 year ago