Proving my Worth over Enjoying Life!! - The mistake I made.

4 20
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

There's an experience sharing trend on social media going on. I don't know if you have noticed it or if you are into this type of content but I absolutely love some of them.

It's something like, "Tell me about ___, okay, I will go first". And they will talk about their experience and then others will join the chain. In a video, I get to learn so many things about others' experiences. I believe it's a nice way to expand our perspective and understanding about others, their culture, and overall life.

So while watching a similar video, the content creator asked to share about anything that you put too much effort but in the end, you came to realize they are not that important as you thought.

And one woman answered, how she put endless effort to get a perfect GPA while compromising with her mental health, how she worked hard proving her worth rather than enjoying life.

And this statement hit me so hard. I was like, this is me, we are in the same boat!!

Image source

This made me realize how I wasted half of my life proving my worth. It's not like I never knew what I did wrong. But coming through the clear-cut statement made me understand why I need to get over that attitude.

You may wonder why I'm saying so. Let me explain...

I was a straight-A student throughout my academic life. No need to say how much effort I had to put in to be steady in that position. My family expectation was higher, I knew that I have to answer if I get even 79. It was never easy no matter how talented a person is. This attitude reflects on my whole life. Everywhere I push myself extra hard to be the achiever, reach the goal, get what I want, be a perfectionist.

No shame to approve that this took over my enjoyment from life a little bit. I do have many wonderful memories, many adventurous experiences. But the effort I put in was enormous compared to them.

Image source

And now look at me!

I'm not the person anymore. I give up the career. I came through a lot to make the decision. But now while doing my things, it makes me happy. So if I say, that effort was 'a little too much' it would not be completely wrong.

Because it was never like I need to get the highest GPA for a good job but it was more about proving myself to my family, to my institution, to society, and to myself too. It was about pride more than anything else.

In this race, I compromised with enjoying life, focusing on what matters most. It affected my mental health.

Now I can proudly say that I'm far away from this. I no longer feel the need to prove myself, or maybe a little, deep inside. I'm working on getting rid of it too.

Don't make the same mistake as I did.

Have a good day, everyone.


4
$ 1.07
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.04 from @Winx1988
+ 1
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It’s not late dear. You can still have that power to rebuild yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I'm trying to move on from this attitude. Thanks :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Knowing our worth and value must comes first with ourself and not as what others can see us.At the end of the day,it's about what can makes us happy and satisfied,no pressure in everything that we do,life is just too short.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, knowing our worth is necessary but pushing too hard to prove it is not. It's better to be what we are rather than make ourselves obvious to fit in the society. I agree with you. Thanks for your thoughtful input.

$ 0.00
2 years ago