Our insecurities toward our children.

13 55
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Why do we get mad at kids? What makes us treat them badly?

I truly believe that kids are reflections of us. They exactly follow what we do, how we behave, and what we say. They indeed learn a few things from outside but that's nothing compared to what they absorb from us.

I have a simple tip that I learned from a parenting podcast. The educator is saying, " when your kid behaves differently or shows negative emotions; look at yourself and see if something is going on within you. Because most of the time we knowingly or unknowingly reflect the emotions and they just follow them."

I find it truly so many times that I start to re-evaluate myself automatically whenever I feel like my child doing having a hard day. And guess what? I'm the one who is having a hard day.

[img]

This is exactly what happens when we demand too much from our children. Good grades, manners in public spaces, healthy eating, and the list go on. I would suggest anyone who is struggling to point out what you are doing wrong is, check if you have any shortcomings and if you are forcing your child to achieve more. Because if they don't you will feel miserable. To get through our misery we use our children as a weapon to rise and shine.

I'm saying this because I was the one who was not sure about this concept. There is no shame to approve that I have flaws and out of my frustration I do sometimes mistreat my child too. The realization I'm talking about helped me a lot to understand this better.

Before I point out my finger at my child, I try to re-evaluate myself.

Forcing our insecurities on our kids is a circle that I want to break. My son doesn't have to be perfect, he can show emotions, and he can be a 'child' for a while.

4
$ 0.37
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

"Your home is the first teacher of your child"__ I heard this phrase from my mom which is quite true and relatable. Parents deeds and words are just like boomerang which comes back to them in the form of their child's behaviour or character. This is why we need to be more careful around child because they are the seeds of a glorified and bright future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I truly agree with your mom's quote. We are the best teacher to our children. There's no way to throw our negative emotions at them. Thanks for sharing your words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you ,it happened on me too and I realized that my wrong actions like saying those words especially when I get tired and mad at my kids ,they are doing it also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The sorry feeling is what we need as a mom to realize and correct our mistakes. I too sometimes can't be cool but it's a learning process to not throw our emotions at them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parents are the mirror of children. Whatever they see from you reflects from themselves. As much as possible, you will not let those children hear or see when you're having a trouble with your husband, or force them from what they're only capable of doing. But the reality today is far different from what I am saying. That’s one of the worst realities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, that's the perfect word.d They are the mirror. In a family, it's hard to hide anything from them. So better make the right decision and raise them accordingly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totally agree!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. As simple as " what they see from us they will eventually follow coz they thought it's right coz we are doing it too". As long as you correct your mistake immediately and explain it to them and show how much you love them then everything will be fine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe so. They are the follower of our action and we must explain them better so they can learn and doesn't grow up with confutions. Thanks for adding your words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you my dear for the sponsorship, i really appreciate it. God bless you more!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a lot of shortcomings with my baby and I am sorry for sometime mistreating her, but I always let her feel that I love her very much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand. Moms too have a lot of flaws, I also sometimes lose my cool over my son. But we should realize and draw a line to not throw our negative emotions at them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very true

$ 0.00
1 year ago