'I Am Mother' | A Sci-Fi thriller Movie review!

6 50
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Review, Writing, Movie

I don't usually review movies and TV series. But this is a kind of movie that is worth reviewing.

This is a movie that filled my thirst for a good sci-fi movie after a long while. The movie plot is totally different from usual, there are only a few characters. But still, this movie makes its own place in this creative world.

Image source

This movie was released on 12 October 2018, I watched it last December 2020 on Netflix. This movie showed a world we might have to face on this earth a few decades later!

You will get every detail about the Production, Release, and Reception from this Wiki link. So I'm not going to write those detail here in this review!

Cast (Major Characters):
Clara Rugaard as Daughter
Luke Hawker as Mother (performance)
Jacob Nolan as Brother

Plot of the movie

An AI robot (called Mother) raises a girl child in enclosed surroundings, the girl doesn't get to know that there's an outside world that existed. She got educated by the robot through different programs, she got to know that the world is extinct (which is not true). She is actually part of a scientific mission to create a better-fit human for the robotics world. Later she found out the truth and made her own stand.

The ups and downs of the relationship between the daughter with the robot mother are what the movie is based on.

Image Source

Character performance

Young Clara Rugaard as Daughter is the soul character of this movie. There were only a few characters for a few minutes like Hilary Swank as Woman, Hazel Sandery and Summer Lenton as Toddler, Jacob Nolan as Brother; but they were insignificant.

And I believe Clara Rugaard played the character very well. As I found Hilary Swank as Woman also managed to convey every emotion appropriately.

My Analysis

It took me a while to understand what is going on the screen because the plot was totally different from usual. There was many plot twist like when the daughter learned about the outside world; when she gets to know about the scientific project she is being part of, about the babies that were buried by the robot mom.

How she took her to stand even she was totally confused about the whole scenario, what is actually right and wrong amused me. The tense-filled narrative and the plot twist were enough to hook movie lovers for the whole time.

Image Source

What made me surprised is the climax. We were expecting a good solution for the connection of robots with humans. And we got to see that in the end. The daughter killed the robot mother's body and took the responsibility of a mother.

People who love sci-fi movies, crazy ideas, and stories to watch on the screen; this movie is perfect for them. The movie is surely slow-paced but it was enough to hook movie loves for the whole time.

I would give this movie 4.5 out of 5.

5
$ 1.39
$ 1.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.04 from @Ay_dimeji
+ 6
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Review, Writing, Movie

Comments

I will try to watch the movie. Your briefings are appealing. But, as someone commented below, "to avoid spoilers," I want to watch the film without knowing the details about the storyline. Thanks for sharing. I have re-shared your post on Twitter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got you. Watch it, I hope you will enjoy it. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did not read your article thoroughly to avoid spoilers, I am fascinated by this type of film I will look for it immediately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand. You can watch the film, I think it would be worthy. Thanks :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I became curious about this,I never see this movie ever ,such a creative kind of plot ,and I think it's good to watch it now. Humans think differently with robots,we are more than robots.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you like sci-fi movies then you would probably love them too. And if you want to experience a totally different plot on the screen, then watch it. It's available on Netflix.

$ 0.00
2 years ago