My mom, My best friend.

2 32
Avatar for rebeysa85
3 weeks ago

Mothers 💕

Almost everyone I’ve met says that their mom is the best. I do too. They have their reasons and of course, I have mine, but I’ve come to look at my mom not just as a mom, but more as a friend, a beautifully scared, flawed, and just a wonderful human being.

When I was little I was afraid of her. Not because of any type of abuse or anything like that. It was just because she was the disciplinarian as opposed to my Dad who was the fun and easygoing figure.

Mom was in charge of everything, and with 4 children (plus 2 more that came later) she had a thigh ship to manage. But of course, I didn’t understand that at the time, so instead, I tried to always be the opposite of a troublemaker, task I wasn’t successful all the time.

I rebelled a lot to her.

She was brought up in a highly man-made household, where women must obey and be what men expect them to be, and I was never like that.

Skirts and dresses only? Give me a pair of jeans anytime!

But she only knew what she was taught, and I didn’t understand any of it, all I cared about was the fact that she bought me skirts and I wanted pants.

Swearing was the other thing. I didn’t have the trucker mouth that I have now, but I liked to use colloquialisms that existed since before she was even born, but I couldn’t because “Ladies aren’t supposed to speak like that” and that didn’t agree with me.

As I got older our relationship got better, like fine wine. I supported her when she decided to go back to college to get a Law Degree (she was 49 when she got it, top of her class), and later struggled a lot with my illness, it was really hard for her to see me like that. By that time, I already had been living alone for about 6 years, and even though before that I knew how to keep a tidy household, being alone taught me a thing or two about how thankless that job can be.

So, when I came back home, my view of her had already changed, I already started to see her as a hero basically just because, a husband and six kids and was still sane? Come on!

We started to do everything house-related together, she helped me with the law curses at college (I really hate law, and nobody respects it either), I cooked, a lot lol, and we had a hell of a time together.

My relationship with my dad also got very strong to the point he confessed to having had an affair when I was about five. I already knew that, I accidentally watched them when he asked her to take him back. But as an adult, I saw it with a different kind of view, and for the first time, I saw them not as Mom and Dad, but as just two people who made mistakes and just trying to do the best they could.

Then my dad got sick and she stood by him all the way through. He used to cry near the end and said to my brothers:

“This is what real love is, your true love will wipe your ass when you’re too weak to do it yourself. Find a woman who stays by your side like your mom is standing by mine”.

Then he died and my Mom said to me, if you crumble I will too.

I understood right there, that we are not just mother and daughter, we are besties, we are each other’s rock. To this day we go everywhere together, I cook for her, she cleans after me, I say what’s in my mind, she says what’s on hers, and we learn from each other. She is just a human being, just as I said at the beginning, and I understand now, that a mom is not just a Mom, and we tend to judge them so harshly when they make a mistake and it’s not until later when we’re able to see that all they do is worry and cry for us, if we don’t sleep they don’t sleep, if we don’t eat they don’t eat, if we are hurting so are they, that all they want is that we are the best we can be, that we try and learn from their mistakes so that we can do and be better.

She taught me so much and keeps teaching me, taking care of me, and I of her. We are what we are because of each other and I’m proud and so grateful to have her in my life.

Uy! Tears are falling down my cheeks as I write this.



This was originally written on Hive!

👉🏻Check out the article HERE 👈🏻

See you next time!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

✨✨rebeysa85✨✨

✨✨Wednesday, April 10th, 2024✨✨

2
$ 0.16
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
3 weeks ago

Comments

That's awesome! Your mom really is a hero! I wish I could do that to my kids too. And that they would understand me as I do them

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Give it time, it'll come. I'm 38 years old, and our relationship has been built through time, so give it time darling. I'll make sure my mom reads your comment haha she'll cry happy tears 💕

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago