It's Mambo Time 👏👏

5 32
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Life, Experiences, Blog, BCH, ...

Hello! Greatings to all! Today I'd like to share somenthing with you guys, that means a lot to me, and in the spirit of making new friends and giving the opportunity for you to know me, I don't mind if I make a fool of myself.

Source

I'm a musician! Did I say that already?

Yes, in my first post I said that. What I didn't say was what kind of musician I am. I play the Oboe, from the woodwind family of Symphony Orchestras, actually, it is one of the most important instruments in the Orchestra, since is the one that's in charge of tuning the assemble.

In all of my years of experience (over twenty) I have collected so many memories and have done so many things that in normal circumstances I wouldn't have been able to do. But never in my wildest dreams I thought that I'd be conducting an orchestra, and it happened, it really did!

It was the year 2018, and I had already left my life as a musician, not by choice, and became the administrative director of the Foundation, and we where having a bad time in general. Everybody started to leave the country because of the economic and political situation we have here, and small group like us where the most affected just for the facta that we don't have much to offer, in terms of money I mean. So, at that moment, our conductor had left us as well and we couldn't find someone to replace him and I had the sad obligation to comunicate to my peers that the concert they where preparing was cancelled. That was not an option to them...

Source

Then something I didn't expect happened, they asked me to conduct the concert myself! What? I'm not a Conductor!! It's to hard, and the fact that I'm a musician doesn't mean that I can stand in front of an orchestra and conduct them. BUt at the end I yielded and we where on the road to the concert.

It was one of the crazyest, scariest, funnyest and most joyfull experience of my life, as a musician and as a human being. Of course, they didn'r expected a Sir Simon Rattle, or Gustavo Dudamel to name a few. But they kept the hope that all of the hard work they had been doing wouldn't go to waste, and it didn't. That's a win/win for me and for everyone who was there.

At the end, you're not dead if you keep fighting, right?

I'll share with you then, my orchestra and me playing (well, dancing) to a Mambo writeng by a Latin composer named Perez Prado. Enjoy!

I say goodbye, for now. Blessings to all!

4
$ 0.56
$ 0.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TengoLoTodo
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Life, Experiences, Blog, BCH, ...

Comments

That was cool, they all looked like they were rocking and having fun

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was a fun concert!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can see the oboe playing Walrus in there 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes, the walrus was conducting, well triying to haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha I started your story today ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago