Food Journal: Mmm..Tartlets

2 17
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

One of the greatest joys in life is being able to pamper your family and there are many ways to do it! Details and affection or simply a good gesture is enough to pamper those you love the most. I have always liked cooking; I remember when I was little, every Mother's Day or Father's Day I would get up very early to prepare breakfast for them and take it to bed to my parents, obviously to both of them whatever day it was. We did not have many financial resources but I invented anything with what was available.

Sadly, in the last years of my father I could not do it the way I wanted, I will talk about that later, but I still have my mother and that is why I try to prepare yummy things in the kitchen with whatever I have on hand, and that's how these tartlets came to be.

Of course it was not easy, with the economic situation of the country it is necessary to take into account not only the money factor, but also electricity, water and gas, the latter key to making these meat tartlets, but I planned enough to consume so much gas and not put my home reserve at risk.

The other factor was the ingredients, especially the tartlets. You see, the tartlets are made with Pastafrola, a special dough for pies and tartlets very popular in South America, and although it is commonly used in sweet recipes it can also be used for savory recipes like this one. But one of its main ingredients is butter, and I preferred to look for another alternative since by the time I made it, it was difficult to find cheap and good quality butter around here, so I got a recipe for Pastafrola made with oil and I had enough of that to make the tartlets.

This is the dough...

The other ingredients were on hand and relatively inexpensive, although the meat is less so. I used tomato, sweet pepper, onions and condiments for the filling of the tartlets and decided to accompany them with a Green Leaf Salad and Caesar "Not" Caesar dressing, named by me like that because it has the same ingredients as the Caesar dressing but without the mayonnaise hahaha and I had to take advantage of the fact that my older sister had come to visit in previous days and had left the Parmesan in the fridge :D.

With the dough made and the filling ready, what remained to be done was to assemble them in the molds and pre-cook them, which at this point my mother was already telling me "I'm hungry" After 15 minutes in the oven I could fill them and I placed a tomato wheel on top and put them in the oven for 20 more minutes.

And while that was cooking I made my Caesar Not Caesar Salad. I also had time to toast and grind a little old bread that we had in the cupboard to sprinkle on when leaving and Voilá!

The truth is that we all liked them a lot and I agreed to do them again before the end of the year and when my older sister, her husband and my beautiful nephew come back to spend a few days with us.

And you? How do you pamper your families?

Tell me in the comment section!

Thank's to my awesome sponsors and all of you wounderfull people!

✨✨ Blessings ✨✨

3
$ 1.18
$ 1.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.01 from @Porwest
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

These actually look very good. I like that they can be savory as well since I am not a huge fan of sweets. I bet my wife would really like these as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Convince her to make them haha you'll enjoy them, trust me

$ 0.00
2 years ago