A trip down memory lane...

0 20
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Today is one of those days when life hits you quite thirsty. A journey through memories made me not only relive my collective moments of glory, but also made me, with much nostalgia, assume once again that those times will never return, no matter how hard I fight for it.

About two months ago, a group of Former Members of the Guárico State Symphony Orchestra was created on WhatsApp, in which I was part until 2016 as a musician and from which I resigned the administrative staff 5 days ago. The group came out at the initiative of a journalist from Caracas, who two years ago met the one who was our most beloved and remembered Musical Director and with whom the Orchestra lived its time of glory. After collecting several testimonies, she decided to contact my mother, who was recommended almost by the entire group for being a fundamental part of the orchestra only for being the mother of 4 members of it, my three older brothers and me. As always, she watched over our well-being as well as our correct behavior and did not miss a single concert, and for that and several other things they hold her in high esteem.

My mom and me

So the journalist herself got in touch with my mother and they made an appointment, here in our town, but she also asked to meet with me, because they had told her that "the little girl with the oboe" as they used to call me, had a very special connection with him, the director. She asked me many things, and always making special emphasis on how small I was at that time, but my mind went elsewhere....

Me and the Musical Director, Marcos

I started to remember my early childhood, which almost all revolved around music, learning instruments, and a life of rehearsals and classes and concerts that I just loved, even being very young of age. But I had to be there, it didn't matter how, it didn't matter why, I didn't even know it myself, the only thing I knew was that it was my place, my second home. And I succeeded, I made an effort and at the age of twelve I entered the symphonic orchestra, not children, not youth, the Guárico State Symphony Orchestra.

My first Oficial Concert 1997
My sister and me Christmas 1998 before leaving for a concert

As a group we were pioneers due to our young ages and the repertoire that as an orchestra we could assume. Tchaikovsky, Beethoven, Rimsky-Korsakov, Mussorgsky were several of the composers that we were able to master and present before an audience of skeptics who did not believe that young people from the country could professionally understand and interpret the universal language of music.

One of my brothers and me chilling out

But this not only fills me with great pride, it also fills me with deep regret, because every day I see it more difficult for this new generation to recover what we had, not only because of the serious economic situation in the country, but also because of the individualistic ambition of people who do not think about that. collective glory, but purely for personal gain.

The journalist, a charming woman, as well as promise to return, entrusted my mother and me to gather more information than she already took with her, because she wants to bring to light the history of the orchestra, and she found it incredible that even with the currents situation the orchestra still exists, and she said that perhaps by taking this project forward, we could obtain what we need to rescue the institution. I only thought on the one hand how good and positive that would be and on the other end, I wish to God they allow it.

I left once before, but I came back for many personal reasons, and the door was still open for me. This time I doubtfully return, because I do not want to be part of the destruction of what so many joys once gave me, and that now has become a sea of ​​insecurity and disappointment.

Thanks for reading me!

Blessings

2
$ 0.88
$ 0.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments