Troubleshooting problems for Microsoft 365 / Office 2019 (Advanced) Part 2

0 28
Avatar for rapsantos
3 years ago

Here is the continuation of the troubleshooting concerns for Microsoft 365 and Office 2019. Click/tap here for my previous article.

It's saying that I need to renew my subscription and I already renewed it?

Visit account.microsoft.com/services again to check your subscription. If it is expired, then renew. If not, check your Programs & Features (for Windows) if there is another subscription installed on your computer like Microsoft 365 for Enterprise/Microsoft 365 for Business then uninstall the program. If you're using macOS, go to your Finder and select Applications

I have my Office 2019, and my computer is asking me to subscribe to MS 365. I don't want a subscription, I want my license!

Remember, that Microsoft 365 is a subscription-based software while Office 2019 is a licensed software and it doesn't expire. Meaning, you can use this software for a lifetime. To have this checked:

For Windows users, If you purchased a brand new computer that comes along with a pre-installed Microsoft 365 it needs to be uninstalled,

1. Open the Programs & Features to your Control Panel. Click on the magnifying glass beside your Windows start menu (bottom left). Search and open appwiz.cpl.

2. Uninstall Microsoft 365 en-us. Then Install your Office 2019. (Click/tap here for DIA process)

For macOS users, open your Finder and select Applications (bottom left on the given image below). Check your Applications like Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, and OneNote.

Office Home & Student 2019 doesn't include Microsoft Outlook. All you need to do is move Outlook to the Trash (bottom right). Reopen any of your programs to activate your license. If it's still asking you to subscribe, then move all the programs (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote) to your Trash and reinstall it again.

I want to install and activate my Office 2000, 2007, or 2010 to my Windows 10.

If you're using Windows 10 as your operating system and currently using an obsolete software mentioned above, Office 2010 will only work on your Windows 10 but your software will be prone to harmful risks, like viruses (computer virus, not microscopic viruses), or malicious software. For Office 2000 and 2007, this will only work on lower versions of Windows (98, XP, or Windows 7. No one is already using these OS since they're outdated).

There will be times that these customers will insist that these programs will work on their current OS (for Office 2000 & '07). So I give them proper education and recommend that they need to upgrade to the latest versions of Microsoft Office (MS 365 or Office 2019). If they don't want to purchase yet, they can avail the one-month free trial for Microsoft 365. If they're satisfied with the free trial, they can continue using the subscription within the year.

I purchased a computer from Dell (or from any OEM distributor) including a subscription or license for Microsoft Office. I tried to activate it using my email address and it's telling me that I don't have the software in my account.

For this one, you'll need the assistance of a tech advocate (dial customer support on your location) and there's no other workaround to resolve this. It is a rare scenario I would get (only applicable for Windows users), and this is a color-coded situation on our end. If they activated the software multiple times or by following the instructions that were sent by the OEM dealer, then that is the time we'll send them a link where they can upload their documents and they need to provide the following:

⦁ Receipt & Invoice from the OEM dealer

⦁ a screenshot of your Device ID (Go to your start menu, click on the gear icon. Select System & About below. Your Device ID will be displayed under Device specifications)

Once they provide their documentation, we'll send their software directly to their inbox. There are a lot of things I would like to add here, as I've said before I'll discuss each part so you can have an idea and what to do next time. Stay tuned for the next part.

2
$ 5.21
$ 5.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rapsantos
3 years ago

Comments