Day 25 - 9 years later...

1 43
Avatar for rapsantos
3 years ago
Topics: Diary, Blog, Sports, Football

December 10, 2020. I remember 9 years ago, the first time I watched our local football league live at the Rizal Memorial Stadium. That was the United Football League Cup 2011 Battle for 3rd between Kaya FC - Cignal versus Global FC. This was the moment I turned on my passion for football. It became my stress reliever just to escape the real world for once.

Me (encircled in red) with the Ultras Kaya. Photo by ©Ken Koo.

For the past 9 years I followed the local football club I supported for 6 years until they decided to move down south, while 8 years and counting for the national teams: primarily from the Azkals, to Volcanoes and Gilas Pilipinas.

As I was looking back from the photos with the group, it brings me back to the glory days. From just a few members until both the local football and the national scene, we became a large group then our influence created different groups. I'll share with you the Ultras movement here in the Philippines. In case you missed how the movement works, click or tap here to read more.

Previously, I shared the short story of how Ultras Filipinas was founded. Before the group's foundation, I was part of a support group called the Futsaldiers. We are supporting the Don Bosco United FC who are playing for our local Futsal league 9 years ago. My mentor from the Futsaldiers decided to take it up to the next level. On the evening of November 26, 2011. The quarterfinal match between Manila Nomads FC (Philippines' oldest football club) and Kaya FC - Cignal. On that fateful night, my mentor and 3 others made discussions at a nearby convenience store at the University of Makati. After sharing their ideas, their club of choice to root for was Kaya Futbol Club. Henceforth, Ultras Kaya (Sons of Mighty Kaya) was born.

The 4 Founding Fathers of Ultras Kaya

Why Kaya? From the club's origin Coach Rudy Del Rosario (rest in Jah paradise, brother) mentioned it came from Bob Marley's hit single "Kaya". In our language, Kaya translates to We Can. It is a key to brotherhood, no matter what your color, religion, beliefs, status in life, or ethnicity is we are united as brothers and to show everyone we can do it until the very end.

For 6 years of supporting the club, I became a capo/lead drummer for 3 years, then remained in my position for the next 3 years as the lead drummer of the group. It was a roller coaster ride, through the good and bad, there were times that I cannot commit myself to watch the games live since I was working at that time. The moment I heard that the club was moving down south to Iloilo, I felt the pain just like a break up from a relationship. I don't have a choice since that was the club's decision and move on with it.

The last time I saw Kaya playing on the pitch, that was 2 years ago. I and the rest of my brothers who are still loyal to the club decided to support them again during their campaign at the Copa Paulino Alcantara 2018. We won against Davao Aguilas FC with 1 - nil in favor of Jovin Bedic. Only a few showed up, and some will continue to support the club. With the group's influence, different support groups are now founded in 2017. Some are still active, while for the other football clubs withdrew from the local league.

The Copa Paulino Alcantara 2018 Cup

That is how I got involved with the Ultras movement for our local league. Somehow, we changed the support culture, now, lots of people are getting interested in football and as for me, I will tell the tale of how this movement became instrumental why our local league is still alive, and share my knowledge to the new generation if they plan to form their own. And I will continue to support my country once our flag is waved & raised by our national athletes.

Sources:

Lead Image and other images from https://web.facebook.com/ultraskaya

For the full album, click or tap here to view more.

2
$ 6.89
$ 6.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rapsantos
3 years ago
Topics: Diary, Blog, Sports, Football

Comments

That is how I got involved with the Ultras movement for our local league. Somehow, we changed the support culture, now, lots of people are getting interested in football and as for me, I will tell the tale of how this movement became instrumental why our local league is still alive, and share my knowledge to the new generation if they plan to form their own. And I will continue to support my country once our flag is waved & raised by our national athletes. like your post dear back me

$ 0.00
3 years ago