Dream Journal | We never talked, but he was the only one I trusted.

0 24
Avatar for rang
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Freewrite

This is a documentation I wrote the morning of September 17, 2018 about a dream I had the night before. Here, I will be omitting names of people I know in real life that showed up in this particular dream.

I felt like this was one of the oddest dreams I ever had. It overall felt very dark and monotonous. I was uncomfortable and woke up feeling restless.


It started with me being surrounded by a bunch of strangers. I honestly didn't know any one of them. I and everyone around me were asked to babysit kids by a group of people I have never met before, too. For some reason, I ended up partnered with some guy I didn't know and have never met, and the kid assigned to us was a little Chinese girl with twin pigtails. Let's call my babysitting partner Jake, and the little girl Cherry.

Jake and I would play with Cherry, but I was the stricter babysitter between me and my designated partner. I wanted to tutor Cherry and teach her different things instead of just playing. Jake and I wound up teaching her how to speak and write in English, and she learned fast.

We eventually went to Cherry's house and met her family. There was an event going on, a birthday party of sorts. Pastel-colored balloons adorned the family garden, and there were many long tables that overflowed with food.

While I and Jake were all smiles, we were actually feeling awkward and kept sending weirded out glances because... the kid's family looked ominous. Dangerous, even. They wouldn't smile at all, and they looked at us weird. Soon, Cherry became attached to both me and Jake (she was more attached to him though, and kept calling him Uncle) that it was getting harder to part ways.

At one point, a huge group of strangers came and introduced themselves as our friends from the babysitting center, though Jake and I were suspicious of them. We never really talked, but the glances I would receive from him felt like he was telling me he was being cautious and suspicious, too.

See, my partner and I don't even know each other personally, how much more these bunch of strangers? Surprisingly, I saw one familiar face -- a college friend. She wanted to take pictures of everyone, and she eventually took a picture of me by the buffet table. I remember not being able to get all of the food I wanted, because apparently, there were different tables for different kinds of food.

I soon lost her, and Jake and I had to leave. We took a group picture with Cherry, her family, and the strangers, and it was eerie how no one from the kid's family was smiling, but everyone from the babysitting center was (it was so uncomfortable!). Cherry started crying as we bade goodbye and left, and I was surprised to find that a local TV network had been documenting the whole thing from start to finish!

We commuted and when we made it out, we were dropped off at the chapel in front of my house. Everyone inside looked weird, like they knew something I didn't. When I looked at Jake, he was already looking at me, as if telling me that I wasn't alone and he felt as weird around the people around us as I did. We were standing at the altar with everyone from earlier, facing the pews. There were even bishops and priests with us, and I felt uncomfortable because I didn't know what was happening, and that deep inside, I knew these people were planning something. My partner, who was on the other end, managed to sneak up so he was beside me, and we looked at each other again. It was as if he was telling me to escape fast just through his eyes. That he would divert their attention and at that moment, I should escape.

I eventually did, and even when I felt really bad for doing so, I didn't look back. I hurried back to our house (just across the chapel/church) and straight to my room, and locked it for good measure. It was then that I realized why I was running away. Those people weren't people. They were other creatures ready to harm humans, and I worried so bad for Jake.

Then I woke up. I realized that I can't remember how Jake in my dream looked like, as if his face was purposefully blurred. And that we never talked in my dream, but he was the only person I trusted in it.

1
$ 0.37
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rang
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Freewrite

Comments