Tenet movie review - the worst Nolan movie?

3 25
Avatar for rand0m
Written by
3 years ago

I have been a fan of Christopher Nolan movies in the past especially the Dark Knight series, Interstellar and Inception although Inception was too complicated to be a fun watch. I had a lot of expectations from Tenet and was very excited mainly because it was a Nolan movie and also because the lead actor was a black actor who happens to be Denzel Washington's son. Star's son aside, John David Washington is a very good actor and did a very good job acting.

But unlike other Nolan movies, this one seemed to be mostly a mind bender with not too much substance. There are 2 different timelines which happen, one in the present and one from the future and they both intersect in the current time and one world happens in a linear way and the other happens in a backward way.

In the end, they may have averted World War 3 but everyone is left confused about who recruited whom and why and also at what point in the future.

Overall the movie seemed too confusing to be fun. I think this has to be worst Nolan movie till date.

1
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @wrabbiter
Sponsors of rand0m
empty
empty
empty

Comments

It's hard for me to say this, but I agree with you on this one. On the flipside though, I think Sir Nolan just did some experimentations on his latest film because he thought, "Well, I've earned my reputation already. I have to break the rules a bit." - something like that. Bad as his latest project may seem, Mr. Nolan is still the best director for me. I wrote something for him here: https://read.cash/@wrabbiter/the-greatness-of-christopher-nolan-0351fca7

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here. I am actually a huge fan of Nolan. The Batman trilogy is probably my favorite series of all time. I loved Interstellar too and Inception went a little over my head but Tenet was outright dumb and too complex to be enjoyable.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree that it's really hard to get by. I had no trouble understanding Inception and Memento, which were extremely mind-bending. But with Tenet, I still couldn't figure it out even after 3 viewings. But I'm not giving up just yet. I will watch it a couple of times more because maybe, Sir Nolan has something to tell me that I really need to comprehend. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago