What is it like to work in a brothel? My surreal experience.

0 30
Avatar for ramonoropeza
5 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

I never imagined working in a brothel, or anything like that. Life never stops surprising you when you dare to live it. Those who know my story know that I am a baker and cook by profession, and that thanks to many of you. I had been able to start my small bakery from home. However, things have not gone well and you have to pay bills and survive in the troubled Venezuelan economy. And although at times I fall into deep depression and live with terrible anxiety about tomorrow, I don't stop fighting to get ahead with my family.

It all started when my real estate agent friend (who I am helping with his social networks and hoping to sell some property to be able to get paid for my work), got a new client to sell her property: none other than the most woman. known in my city Barquisimeto, its name “Luz Marina”.

Luz Marina, or simply Marina, is an icon of the popular culture of my city, since you were a teenager you start hearing about her. At first you don't understand, but when you grow up you already understand the jokes when a teenager has some effeminate tendency they say: this one should be taken to Marina!

The truth is that my friend came to her because a distant relative is the brothel's accountant. She told him that Marina was looking for someone to help her sell the building where the brothel operates. So he went to meet with her and got to work selling the building. During the interview she comments that she wants to boost the brothel while the sale of the building is achieved, and it is here that my friend did not hesitate to offer my services as Community Manager.

The next day I went to interview her and my friend accompanied me with her. First, we went to the brothel but she was not there but at her house. However, without even interviewing me, she told the manager that I could start working. So I started taking some photographs of the place (Something Dantesque and seedy) and of the girls. When we finished, it was night and we went to her house to talk to her about her work. Here I could begin to sense that everything would go wrong.

I introduce myself to Mrs. Luz Marina, who tells me she is 73 years old. Talking to her, I could notice her total ignorance about my work and the functions of a community manager, and even digital marketing in general. I could notice her absolute digital illiteracy. I was on the verge of not accepting the job, however, the lady was very kind to me at first and my friend also encouraged me to take the job.

That same night I got to work: I put together a content plan for the week, I created a basic visual identity to be able to work with aesthetics in the publications, I edited some photographs as best I could (the girls did not want to be recognized and I had to erase some tattoos with a app from phone). Likewise, I created new profiles on Instagram, TikTok and Facebook because she had no idea if she had any. It was a heavy night.

However, I did it with great hope of receiving reciprocity from the lady. However, it all started badly: the moment I sent her my proposals for social media, she started telling me what I should do, that everything was horrible and that was not what she expected. This was very shocking to me. But it was right here, when I realized that i was not in the right place to grow. All of her complaints did not have a solid argument, only that she did not like him and that the women did not see each other. But I didn't want to show anything explicit in the profiles, because they would block my account so I could make ads and thus take advantage of the famous name of this place in my city. The straw that broke the camel's back was one day when I went to do other shots to continue generating content and she dismissed all my work and effort without any argument and with some insults.

After this event, it took me a few days to definitively retire from this job. The lady never had the intention of paying me because she didn't understand anything about my work. I also realized that she did not know how to read and only communicated by voice note. Everything here was very frustrating and I knew that i had to get out of there. That night, I didn't have my mother's car and I walked throughout the center to the taxi rank, which luckily was still operating at that time. I took a big risk for nothing...

Instagram page

55k views on tiktok

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of ramonoropeza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ramonoropeza
5 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

Comments