Hopelessness as a tool for social control.

5 42
Avatar for ramonoropeza
3 years ago

Blackouts. Terrible public services. Null transport system. Inflation overflowing. High cost of living. Gasoline shortage. Unleashed violence. Corrupted justice system. Incapable politicians. Venezuelan daily life leads the population to chronic despair, which leads to putting aside the fight for freedom and democracy (or at least for a change of government) to only fight to survive and not starve. The latter often involves enduring the government's humiliations that it grants in the form of social benefits. Hopelessness is a general state of the population.

Yesterday I went to the center of my city to buy some food. I got the money between what I have collected here and some airdrops, plus my mother's pension. I went with my brother and a friend. We had to walk at least 10km, back home I carried all the food in a backpack, the backpack was marked on my skin. Thank God I have to eat, many people are going through a worse situation, it is very common to see people looking in the trash. My friend with whom I make the breads is also going through a difficult situation, so I bought her several things so she can eat these days.

My friend and my brother.

The picture was bleaker than normal. The streets are empty of cars due to fuel shortages rather than quarantine. In this sense, it is possible to see dozens of people walking (like me and my friends) through the streets and avenues instead of using public transport (which is not working). Already in the center of my city, my appreciation is that the quarantine is ridiculous: all of us have our masks on, but nobody complies with the other safety regulations. There is no minimum distance nor much hygienic protection. Quarantine is a tool that the government uses to cover fuel shortages.

situation outside a market

As an anecdote I tell you that when we reached the center of my city, the electric service was already out of service there. So that is a problem for when paying in stores because the system becomes slow. When we got back I really got very tired. But I started making bread to feed my family and that of my friend. She almost cried when I gave her the food I could buy her. I'm also a crybaby, so I had to hug her quickly so that no one burst into tears. We started making bread and while they were baking the electric service was suspended. It was night and I finished baking by lighting with a cell phone flashlight. Electric service took more than 8 hours to be restored. I had fallen asleep despite the terrible mosquitoes and the horrible heat it has been doing.

These factors that I live in my own flesh are more acute in other Venezuelan brothers. For example, in Caracas in the José Félix Ribas de Petare neighborhood (the largest favela in Latin America) there is a gang war that takes more than six days and the government has not entered until today. I think of the innocents who are trapped there unable to work and going through the same hardships as most Venezuelans and also endure the shooting of weapons of war, even grenades are known to have detonated.

Warning: The video contains strong images. Be careful.

Clashes between gangs in Caracas, May 2020.

Venezuelans are more concerned with surviving day by day than with fighting for freedom and democracy. This thanks to the social decline that the government has sown through its inefficiency and corruption. Opposition politicians are also not good leaders and have not known how to raise the flags of the people who want to get out of this nightmare. Despite all this, hope must be the last thing to be lost. And as long as we are Venezuelans aware of this, we will continue to be that reminder that we can live and be better.

If you liked my article. You can contribute by commenting your opinion on this topic, subscribe to my feed. You can also support me to continue bringing quality content with your tip. Contributing to the columnists is of great help to our economy in difficult times. Thank you!

0
$ 0.24
$ 0.24 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of ramonoropeza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ramonoropeza
3 years ago

Comments

This pandemic corona virus affected all over the world... In my country the situation is worse... What's the situation in your country NOW?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This corona virus of a thing is affecting the whole world, financially, economically, educationally, socially and many more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

the coronavirus sucks! Thanks for comment!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Another amazing article. You're absolutely correct that governments around the world use hopelessness as a tool to control the masses. Venezuelan government officials, specifically Maduro, live in splendor while the rest of the nation lives as you have described above.

Also, I haven't forgotten about you. I will be responding to your email probably tomorrow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for commenting Paul. Mass control is a reality that is increasingly evident. And you have to deal with this system.

After publishing this article, my neighborhood has been left without telephone and internet service. Until today it has been restored. I look forward to your email, my regards!

$ 0.00
3 years ago