The Cha Cha Dance Always Mesmerizes Me

0 19
Avatar for rafaelken1989
3 years ago
Image courtesy of hipwallpaper.com

Whenever I watch Ballroom dance contests over on TV and YouTube videos, I always wait for the Cha Cha category. Of all the classical Ballroom dance invented, Cha Cha is my all-time favorite. It always has a special place in my heart.

Although I grew up watching my grandparents preferred to dance Tango than Cha Cha, garnering wins every time our small community held dance contests. It was always a fun to watch them! How I wish to turn back time. I would do anything just to watch my beloved grandfather and grandmother who are now both in heaven to dance one more time. God knows that I missed them so bad! :-(

The Ballroom dance genre is always composed of two partners dancing together in harmonious symphony. Aside from Cha Cha and Tango, there are a lot of Ballroom dances still popular today like Samba, Rhumba, Pasadoble, Jive and much more.

Cha Cha has a Latin origin as early as way back to 1953. The country of its origin is Cuba. What I like about this dance is that it is not so hard to do. The dance rhythm always follows the beat of the sound. But if I were to compare Cha Cha and one of the other Ballroom dance categories like Tango, the latter is a bit more sophisticated and passionate. Cha Cha for me is not just a cool ballroom dance that I find entertaining and enjoyable, it also relieves stress. I am proud to say that I can refer it as my kind of physical exercise.

I had to admit that millenials find Cha Cha and the rest of the Ballroom dances boring and a bit old school types of dance. I cannot blame them for that though Cha Cha is still popular nowadays. A Ballroom dance competition will not be complete without it.

There are also variations of the Cha Cha dance depending on the countries that have popularized it over the decades since its inception. There are lots of Cha Cha variations we can find like the Basic Cha Cha, Cross-over, Turning Exit, Lady’s Arch Turn, Chase, Flip Flops, Half Moon, Style Notes and much more. The Cha Cha variations are danced differently according to beats per minute. It can be dance as low as 108 beats per minute to a fast one up to 138 beats per minute.

For other people, dancing Cha Cha is a way of expressing out their feelings or their passion. If we try to browse for some dedicated Cha Cha dance competitions throughout the world, we can see how lively and vibrantly the dance partners are. They are dancing in perfect union as if they are one with the sound beat. I also find the dance partners in very top shape and sexy. They are showing good body discipline.

Like I said earlier, the Cha Cha dance is not that hard to practice. We can easily do it like find a partner of course, select the music of your choice, and prepare the dance position stance. Then after that do breaks step and so on and so forth.

No wonder there are a lot of other people like me who likes this dance. Oldies are always goodies. As long as I enjoy watching others, newbies and experts alike, the Cha Cha dance will always mesmerize me for more years to come.

Hope you like reading this article.

Feel free to post comments for any questions or corrections.

As always, keep safe and God bless! :-)

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rafaelken1989
3 years ago

Comments