Cryptopia Update - They are asking for my ID now!

5 63

So after several attempts of trying to retrieve my crypto out of the impossible tasks they gave me at Cryptopia, I recently received an email (very randomly) from Cryptopia and now they want me to give them my ID to verify my account. Given the kind of shady past that cryptopia has had, I am not sure if I should do it. I believe an employee at Cryptopia had pleaded guilty that he stole customer funds etc. Now that they have legal proceedings against them, it might be ok for me to give them my ID. I'm confused. Can anyone help me decide if I should do it?

I don't have a lot of crypto locked in their platform. I would think a maximum of maybe $150-200 which I would be ok to lose rather than risking giving them my identity.

Looking at your account I can see that you filled in your details in the User Profile section of the site, so we can use your ID to verify you. 
 
Please reply to this email with a picture of a valid photo ID, as well as a picture of yourself holding the same photo ID with a handwritten note of today’s date. I will then go ahead and verify that with what we have on file here and be able to manually approve your registration. 

4
$ 10.79
$ 10.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.01 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
Sponsors of potta
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I HAVE ALARGE AMOUNT AROUNT 0.04 BTC I WILL DO ID FOR THEM BUIT I DONT RECEIVED ANY TYPE OF MSG

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I abandoned my Cryptopia account and don't hope to get it back. I had an amount that could be equal to yours, but when Cryptopia was hacked it probably worth $20. I won't give them any ID and moved on writting-off my coins there. I owned ETH and a few obscure altcoins that I don't think I remember which. There is a price that I would pass KYC since nobody likes losing money, but this much is not what our ID is worth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally agree. Thanks for letting me know your thought process. I'm not giving it to them!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If they are asking for ID "after the fact"
then they are an outfit to avoid at any cost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that makes sense. Thanks for your input, i'm not giving it to them! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago