BTC cashback - Fold vs Coinbase debit card

4 204
Avatar for potta
Written by
3 years ago

I wanted to get people's thoughts on both of these major companies offering Bitcoin back on purchases through their debit card offering. I am not sure which is the better card and which one should be preferred.

The Fold card will start issuing their debit cards next week, starting with the first 1000 early access members of which I am a part of. It looks like they will be offering 1-2% Bitcoin (only) back on all purchases with their debit card. The good thing here is that it can go up to 2% and you get BTC back. The only downside here is, Fold is not a very well known company so I would be very hesitant to give them my SSN if they ask for it, which I think they most likely will. If someone can tell me why it's safe to give them my SSN, that would be really helpful.

Coinbase hasn't indicated when their card will be out but Coinbase is a much bigger company and I have already shared my SSN with them. I was very comfortable sharing my SSN with Coinbase. Only thing here would be timing. I am not sure when their card would be out. The good thing with the CB card is that they seem to be offering 1% BTC or 4% Stellar XLM back on purchases. So I guess you can chose between both cards.

Any thoughts on which card would be better and why?

Also, if you haven't signed up with Fold yet, it is definitely worth a try. You can use this link to get 20,000 sats to get started. https://use.foldapp.com/r/Xd7ASMLe

5
$ 0.52
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of potta
empty
empty
empty

Comments

It would be interesting to read the fine print about the Fold card. My guess is they contracted with a 3rd party vendor to administer their card, so you’ll be giving your SSN to that company. Whether Fold can access your personal records is another story.

But I like Fold. I just cashed out $22 of BTC today and it’s in my personal wallet. That was my second withdrawal, so it’s definitely legit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh it’s definitely legit. I cash out all the time and I have earned about $100 so far on it which is amazing. I really only want to enter my SSN in a safe website. I hope they have something like that. Also i need to find out about their storing personal data. Not sure how to find out. Any ideas?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it will be. The rules credit/debit card issuers in the US need to abide by are very strict. And one bad event can destroy a company. That said, everyone needs to make their own decision as to whether they feel it’s safe or not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice article.i like it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago