Body Piercing/Tatoos

0 16
Avatar for philzest
3 years ago


Hello dear Read.cashites! Let's talk about a controversial topic - body piercing and tattoos. 




When my mom had my sister, a day before her naming ceremony which took place on the eighth day, my paternal grandmother pierced her ears and ever since  then, she wears earrings.




This piercing happened at a time when she was just a baby, she had no mind or strength to express what she wanted - to pierce or not to pierce. But now that she is older, she have her thoughts on piercing and tattoos.




Body piercing/tattoos is a controversial topic in this present time because we have those who are for and those who are against.




Body piercing means holes made in the skin mostly the ears or other body parts to insert jewelry while tattoos are markings and decorations on the body. These practices are as old as time.


My paternal grandmother had tattoos on her arms and I wondered how she got them. As young girls, they believed it enhanced their beauty and so they carved those marks on themselves. My mom does not have tattoos or piercing on any part of her body because her own parents did not believe in such. They viewed it as disfiguring the beautiful creation of God.




There are some group of people that practice marking tattoos on the body based on their religious or cultural beliefs. There are also the group of people who do not believe in marking or piercing the body like my maternal grandparents. They see it as disfiguring the body or attempting to change it.




Regardless of what group we fall into, each person to his/her own. It's important we practice tolerance and respect others' beliefs and choices. It would be wrong to force someone else to abide by what you believe in or to judge them based on their belief which is different from yours.




I am not against body piercing but don't think I can stand to pierce any other part of my body because I am scared of needles and believe in treating my body right. I'm very conscious of the need to guard against infection when piercing or mark the skin. 




Tattoos are a capital NO for me. Again, fear of needles and I'd rather keep my body looking just the way it is!




What are your thoughts on body piercing and tattoos?

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of philzest
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for philzest
3 years ago

Comments