Once is Enough

1 23
Avatar for phegiel33
3 years ago

 

“We only live once but if we live it right once is enough.” We only have one life here on earth but we are free to do anything. You can do whatever you want that will make your life happy. But does it really make sense? Are you really happy on the things that you are doing now? Will it bring satisfaction or regrets afterwards?

I am writing this post for me to share my real life realizations when I reach 30 years of age. I am 33 years old now and thankful I reached this age. There are changes happening in my life now compared to my perpective when I was 10 or 20. So, here it is, my top 5 realizations at the age of 30.

 

1. Getting Married.

You read it right. We all have different desires in life because some prefer to be single while some want to engage in a relationship. Some would consider ideal age for them to get married but I guess marriage is for any legal age as long as you are totally prepared: emotionally, financially, spiritually and even physically.

For men, as what I’ve heard from others, it is better to get married when you reach 30 because at this point you are now settling down and stable with your career. In short, you can now sustain the daily needs of your future family. When my age was on the last day of the calendar, my parents usually encouraged me to get married. I know some men and even women can relate on this. My mom asked me to court someone and be in a relationship for me to have my own family so that when I get older, my children will take care of me.

I had some doubts if I am going to settle down or just live my life alone. When I went back home to finally settle down with my career also, I tried my luck to be a teacher. During dayoffs, I had my Education units classes as required for me to take the Teachers national board examination. Thanks God I passed the said exam in one take and decided to resigned on my job and applied in some school. I was disappointed at first because my high school Alma Mater rejected my application. But applied to a school within our barangay wherein it was the same school where I graduated in Elementary. That was the start of my love story journey when I met Ma’am Katherine Montecino who is a Junior High School Teacher in that school. I got hired to teach at Senior High School Department last June 05, 2017 and we got married last November 17, 2018. Our love story was written so fast compared with others who are in a relationship for more than 5 years before settling down.

Our wedding day:November 17, 2018
My family now as we celebrate the coming of year 2021.

2. Permanent Job.                                               

I worked first as a call center agent for 3 years in Alabang, Muntinlupa. That was my first job. I can’t forget those irate customers I had conversed with and that was my always prayer that there would be no irate customers on that day. I know its toxic because of the shifting schedules, changes in your lifestyle, your health is at risk because at nights we were facing the computer screen plus handling phone calls, unusual eating and sleeping habits. But of course it helped me a lot because with the salary I had, I sent some to my sister for her allowances when she was in college.

Then I worked also in a commercial bank, Banco de Oro (BDO) as Accounting Assistant. Still I was pressured on my work because of the cut-off time of all Local and Regional Cheques. There was clearing time like 3 pm that all cheques must be scanned and transmitted electronically to the system. Plus you need to be vigilant especially on the error transactions of all tellers during vouching time and the endless safekeeping of all documents. You need to keep everything in balance because when the cash in the system is different to the cash inside the vault you are not allowed to go home. Every single cent counts; you need to find that single cents if that is the cause of misbalance.

Finally at the age of 30, I became a licensed Teacher. God indeed was so good and he made all things in order. I am now settling for good because I am happy with my work now. I am a public servant and I love sharing my knowledge on a particular subject to my students and I can also share values and right manner to my advisory class and offer counseling since I am appointed as a Guidance Counselor. When you’re love what you are doing, I know you will last for it. 

Happy Teachers Day Celebration
With some of my Grade 11 students

3. Money Savings.

Savings is important for present and future needs. I admit I do not have savings this time because I still have outstanding loans to pay but I included this one because it is necessary for us to save.

When my mom got hospitalized last December 2020 because of diabetes, I realized how important savings was for emergency purposes. We all don’t know what will happen to us the next day today. We are just anticipating that if something negative will happen, we still have money to buy foods and medicines. We must learn from what ants are doing: though they are small but they store enough foods during summer season so that when rainy days come, their wil be no problem at all.

That is why our son has a piggy bank since last year. Small amounts of coins and some paper bills were already stored inside his piggy bank. Yes, savings is important. If we are going to save 5 pesos a day multiplied by 365 days we will have 1, 825 pesos at the end of the year. How much more if we are going to save more than 5 pesos a day. So start saving now before it becomes too late.

 

Save it up now!

4. Promotion

I am also considering this after having a permanent job. Somehow, we need to be upgraded and upskilling is needed because if we will remain on the same level, sometimes we get bored and unsatisfied. It is our desire with my wife that we will pursue our Master’s Degree after the pandemic. Promotion is important not just with the higher salary but with the level of knowledge you will acquire, new responsibilities and you will handle different people in which you will learn from them. But if you choose and happy to be on that same level right now, keep it up and do your best.

Promotion is coming...

5. Travel

I want and I need to have a break also after all your hardwork and sacrifices, we need to reward ourself. That is why when I started to have my job, it is my goal to travel in one famous tourist destinations in the Philippines once a year like every summer. My wife and I had been to Boracay Island in Aklan, the solemn and beautiful beaches in El Nido Palawan and we were amazed by God’s creation in the Underground River of Puerto Princesa, Palawan. I’ve been to Baguio thrice already, I visited also the ancient and preserved houses in Vigan, I went to Purto Galera also, I had underground photos with the whale shark in Oslob, Cebu. I travelledand went also to Samal Island in Davao and in Siquijor.

Yes take time for yourself or with someone special. If you can’t afford to travel outside the country, why not consider first the beauty and wonder of the Philippines. There are more beautiful places our country can offer.

Underground River, Puerto Princesa, Palawan
Big Lagoon, El Nido, Palawan
Whale shark at Oslob, Cebu
Boracay Island, Escapade last summer 2018
Maxima Aquafun, Samal Island, Davao
Beautiful Island of Siquijor
Baguio City with my brother and cousins
Vigan
Mactan, Cebu

All of these are my top 5 life realizations when my age reached 30. Yes we all have priorities in life. It is we who is the captain of our own ship. Hoping and praying we all have a beautiful journey ahead. God bless everyone.

1
$ 1.35
$ 1.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for phegiel33
3 years ago

Comments

wow what a great article and nice photos. I learned a lot from your life realizations. So much words of wisdom.

$ 0.00
3 years ago