My dad's last day of vacation

0 16
Avatar for peachy_keen
3 years ago
Topics: Blog, Experience, Life

Before anything else, I'll be sharing some background about dad. My dad is an OFW for almost a decade and currently working in Papua New Guinea as a maintenance manager. I can say that we only spend our time together for a month once or twice a year. He started working abroad back in 2011 when I was in my middle grade school. Looking back, I can say that my dad was really a hard working man. I am so proud of him for all of the things he had done for us. I remember the very first moment he went abroad. It was realy hard for me to bid my goodbye knowing that it will take a while before I can see him again. My voice was literally shaking when I said goodbye and I love you. My chest feels so heavy and I think that was the saddest moment for me. That time we are at my grandmother's house. We usually go there every weekend to pay a visit to my grandmother and my other aunties as well. 

As I said, once a year we get to spend our days with my dad for a month not including the school days though. We are all excited to wait for him in his arrival. I can see our eyes filled with hope and enthusiasm. Sadly, that did not happened due to pandemic. It was really hard for an OFW to go back to their respective countries. There are a lot of papers to be process and requirements that you need to fulfill to arrive safely. Luckily my dad's swab result was negative and he only spent a couple of days quarantine in a hotel before he went back home. Everyone in the house was filled with excitement. Of course who wouldn't? It's been two years since his last vacation. His plan of going back last May 2020 was postponed to due pandemic. That time, all flights are banned because of the strict quarantine. We are so overwhelmed when my dad was allowed to had his late vacation. Fast forward, my dad arrived safely on the first week of January. We went to church and bought some stuff in the mall. It was a different feeling for me to go outside since it's been a while. The remaining days was so fun. I can say that I had a great time with my dad. I can really tell the difference of my life with and without my dad. Our home had a different vibe whenever my dad was here. He had such a great sense of humor. I was always laughing everytime he says something funny or even if not funny at all. He makes me happy and that's the best part. Our life seems so light whenever he's around. The three months that we got to spend our time with him was the best. I really cherish the time with him. Now I'm missing our favorite binge-watching movies in netflix and the k-drama marathon of ours. Of course the late night food deliveries will also be missed. Yesterday was his last day here. His scheduled flight was in the evening so he went to the airport aroung 6pm. I feel so sad although this feeling is not new to me. I wish that he didn't need to go back there alone. My chest feels heavy seeing my dad going inside the car and waving his goodbye to us. I miss him so much! 

Overall, I can say that the life of an Overseas Filipino Workers are really not that easy. It usually takes a lof of courage or bravery to sacrifice themselves going to far places, away from their loved ones. I am so proud of those people who continues to fight their battles alone. Being away from their family is really not that easy especially if it take years for you to finally see them again. As long as you still have your time, spend them wisely and always make them feel that they are loved and not forgotten. 

xoxo,

@peachy_keen

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for peachy_keen
3 years ago
Topics: Blog, Experience, Life

Comments