It's The Little Things

0 13
Avatar for peachy_keen
3 years ago

I have been working so hard for the past few years here in Manila as a Marketing Head. My thoughts were about my plans for the future and material obsessions. I am working hard to suffice my needs or wants; nothing can stop me from doing so. Now I am walking in the hallway with a smile on my face while sipping my favorite caramel macchiato, not daring to greet back anyone I encountered along the way. Marga Lorenz here and welcome to my life.

This is so good. I sit down in my office chair and close my eyes for a second until I heard the telephone ring. What a moment of interruption for me, but I decided to take the call. Our department was in charge of the brand promotions, and being one of the marketing head, we are kind of busy with the preparation. 

It is already late in the evening when I left the office and was on my way home. The roads and alleys were empty during this hour. I was walking straight when suddenly a boy appeared in front of me. He was wearing ragged clothes and saying some gibberish words. It seems like he was asking for some money. I did not care and just walked straight past him. When I reached home, I took a shower and went to sleep. 

I wake up feeling exhausted. It seems like my dream was true. I got off my bed and did my usual morning routine. While at work, I cannot help thinking about what happened last night. It was a late evening again when I decided to go home. There are tons of paperwork that I badly want to finish in my office. As I walk along the street, I noticed the boy seated in a newspaper in front of an establishment. I pause for a moment; he was guiding those kids sleeping peacefully on the other side. I felt sorry for them somehow as I continue to walk my way home. 

The following day was my day off. Finally, I can spoil myself again! I went to every department store and luxury brand that I see. It's been almost a month since I spoiled myself. I miss my shopping time. As I was on my way home, I noticed that those kids were gone. The surroundings were all empty at night. I began to wonder where did they go. 

It's been a few days ever since I saw them. One time when I'm on my way home from the supermarket, I saw the little boy across the street. I drove my car and park it near them. I got off the car and went slowly towards him. He was staring blankly at me and waiting for me to say something. I smiled at him and asked for his name. I got some bread and drinks in my car and gave that to the boy. He was hesitant at first, but later on, accepted my offer. 

When I arrived home, I can't stop thinking about what happened earlier. Seeing the boy eating happily in the corner gives my heart a feeling of happiness. I didn't know that day would change my whole life. Every weekend I bought some food and bring it to the boy. He was with the other homeless children too. Instead of my usual routine every weekend, now I get to spend it by helping those people who are also in need. 

I realized that the things we want in life may not be the things that we really need at all. Sometimes, it's the little things that matter the most. It's about giving without looking for any return. 


2
$ 0.00
Avatar for peachy_keen
3 years ago

Comments