Do grades really matter?

2 23
Avatar for pazuzuae
2 years ago

This is not me trying to justify my score in the picture but me wanting to elaborate on this common issue in the academic field. I, as a student in 9th grade, experienced getting low scores on quizzes, exams, and many activities which results in me getting a low grade on certain subjects and affecting my general average for the semester. Even though it is not that low enough to actually make me stop and retake the school year, It is low enough to get me alarmed since I am in a high section.

When I was in my 7th grade, I didn't perform 1 activity and made me get a solid 77 on my report card. I was so nervous that I am stuttering uncontrollably when I was talking to my mum about that. I know that it's my fault for not performing that 1 activity but it made me went through a lot. Imagine being in a high section and getting a 77 in English which is known as our 'second language'. At that point I realized, grades DO matter. It made a scar on my records which I can't change anymore and it made a scar in my memory which I can't forget anymore.

After that, I swore to myself I should put effort into my acads to get at least 80's on my report card. Fortunately, since then I didn't get any 70's anymore.

While surfing on the web, I ran through an article which states successful people who did bad in school while studying and those who dropped out. I saw a lot of remarkable names such as Mark Zuckerberg who created Facebook, Steve Jobs who founded Apple, Bill Gates who founded Microsoft, Elon Musk who founded Space X, and more. These successful people were all drop-outs! They dropped out to focus on their passion, their invention, and to what they believe they excel in. By pursuing their goals, it made them successful and the most influential persons on earth.

This made me reflect on myself, it made me question, "Is education is really worth the time and efforts we put into it?", "Is education is the only key for the door towards success?". I analyzed this thought for a long time and it made me come up with this conclusion:

Scores are like the smallest unit which builds up grades that will affect your academic record which also can be reflected through your resumé and get a decent job. It may be a lot of hard work, but in this process, while studying you can explore things you are into and find your passion. This helps on looking for what things you think you're good at and doing your best potential to be successful. The academic system makes you try all things until you find something that suits you and enhances your skill. With these, I can say that EDUCATION matters and not grades. Having experiences matters and the education system makes us go through it.

Grades may be the measurement but applying what you learned is the real deal. Just like what the mentioned names did, they pursued, worked hard, focused, and became successful with the help of education as their background to support.

Maybe the best trick to be successful is to complete your education despite the low grades you get and apply what you learned to the passion you discovered while studying and excel through constant self-improvement. Education may be the key but this formula is the duplicate.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Nyctofiles
Avatar for pazuzuae
2 years ago

Comments

These days I realized that at some point, grade still matters. Because of the pandemic there are no entrance exam conducted for admission for most universities. Most of them based the evaluation for admission from students grades. As a Grade 12 student I'm worried. My grades are high (90+ average) yet there are still some subjects that have grade I considered low. And now, I have regrets that I should have study well in my previous years, giving out my best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. Grades are still a requirement to most of universities and you gotta maintain them high for you to be able to enter and pass easily. Anyway, thanks for the tip:))

$ 0.00
2 years ago