Garbage Pale Kids meets Tiger King - A sale of NFTs

1 12
Avatar for pairmike
3 years ago

Up until a month or so ago, I had not heard of Garbage Pale Kids (GPK) before. The only reason I learned about them was an article discussing the launch of NFTs on the WAX.io blockchain.

In early July, the first release of GPK cards were release on the WAX chain. I had a chance to purchase some, but after entering my information in the shopping cart, I noticed there wasn't a crypto payment option, so I decided not to complete the purchase. I did not want to pay using my credit card.

A few days later, I learned that the GPK NTFs were being sold for 300% markup or more in the secondary trading market. So, as it goes in crypto, everyone has a story of missed opportunity. This is another one of mine.

But wait... A week or so afterwards, I heard that Topps, the creator of GPK, was going to launch a collection based on Tiger King on the GPK brand. I thought I had a chance to catch this next sale.

On July 14, 2020, the Tiger King Collection when on sale. Fortunately I was able to purchase a few packs. I sold a couple of cards and I even have a few packs that I haven't opened, yet.

Here's what opening a pack looks like.

These cards sold out in about an hour. What do you think about NTFs and the possible use cases for them? Could this be the next big thing for the blockchain?



1
$ 0.00
Avatar for pairmike
3 years ago

Comments

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago