Forrest Gump and the acceptance of uncertainty

0 67
Avatar for ozzycrypto
1 year ago

Greetings JustWrite friends, today I want to share with you a post about one of the most special movies of my life: Forrest Gump.

As almost always, I will not dwell on technical details because it is not my intention to do a movie review, whenever I talk about movies I talk about what I experience watching them.Back in the mid 90s I saw this movie, it was one of the most impacting movies I saw and I can still watch it over and over again without getting bored, I think it leaves many valuable lessons about life.

www.filmaffinity.com

Life is like a box of chocolates :


"Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you're going to get."

One of the most emblematic phrases of this great movie is the one in which Forrest's mother tells him that life is like a box of chocolates, since you never know what they have inside for sure. Personally, this phrase today, at 34 years old, seems to me of great philosophical depth. It is the acceptance of the uncertainty of existing. It is basically to understand and accept that you never know what is going to happen, there are no certainties, nobody knows what is going to happen tomorrow, the future is uncertain and you have to learn to deal with it and be happy in these hard conditions.

www.filmaffinity.com

"Foolish is the one who does foolish things"

Although Forrest is a character with obvious disadvantages in the beginning, he learns to deal with it, basically he is a modern stoic. Surprising to see the hard scenes when he is stoned and chased by some kids who wanted to hurt him, there occurs one of the most memorable scenes of the film when the braces break while Forrest runs leaving the little bullies behind. Surprisingly Forrest does not cry for it, his attitude is one of fortitude, he always sought refuge with his mother who always had a philosophical answer, like a matriarch full of wisdom. His mother's logic was accurate, when her son tells her :

"Mom at school they call me silly. She replies, "Silly is the one who does foolish things."

www.filmaffinity.com

The value of friendship and loyalty:

This movie reflects like few others the value of friendship and loyalty. Forrest is a character who never grows up, that is, he becomes an adult but remains innocent, the sick society could not take away his inner child, so he does not understand the sarcasm and always seeks to do the right thing even if it puts his life at risk. Unconditionality is another trait of Forrest, we can see it with his friend Bubba, Lieutenant Dan and his love Jenni.

www.filmaffinity.com

No one should die without seeing this movie.

No one should die without having seen this movie first. I believe that in our current society this movie from almost 20 years ago can teach us many things. No one can give an exact definition of life, we can only experience it, life is a totality, how could we apprehend it in a concept? words are only words it's true, but if I could say something about life to my little son, I would tell him exactly what Forrest's mother told him:

Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you're going to get....

www.pinterest.com

Thank you for reading, I hope this publication has been to your liking. Leave me a like if you like it or a comment if you prefer. See you in a future post

Original Photography

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of ozzycrypto
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ozzycrypto
1 year ago

Comments