I LOVE YOU: Three precious words that I am unable to say to my parents

2 24
Avatar for opacarophile
2 years ago

Saying "I love you" is a natural way for the majority of individuals to convey their genuine feelings. It often feels like a reflex, especially when it comes to people to whom they are used to saying it, such as their parents or friends. However, for some people, such as myself, expressing those three words, especially in a familial bond, is difficult, so I never do. It simply made me unable of expressing my emotions in the appropriate manner. I became shy and introverted, which made it difficult for me to express myself. My emotions are really strong, and I have no trouble feeling them. When it comes to expressing them, however, things get a little more challenging. It's far easier for me to write about my feelings than it is for me to sit with my family and discuss them. I can talk about my feelings with strangers and friends, but I can't say anything to my family about how I feel.

It's always been a matter of awkwardness for me. I never heard anyone in our house say "I love you" to each other when I was a kid. Even thinking about saying that made me uncomfortable. It's as if you're supposed to assume you're loved in the house, even if no one says it to you. According to my observations, we put our love into action rather than saying it.

I've never been able to say "I love you" to my parents since I was a child. I heard them a lot from other people's families and on TV shows, but I couldn't speak them in my own home. I can't say that to my family without feeling uncomfortable or as if something is wrong; it bothers me and makes me feel uneasy.

Yes, I enjoy spending time with my family, especially chatting about life and our future plans, but not about our feelings.  I was just thinking about how awkward it is for me to say "I love you" to my parents because words are not my love language. God knows how much I love my family, and it's because of them that I do well in school. I do my best in school so that I can finish my studies and be of assistance to them in the future. I express my love for them by doing nice things for them and spending time with them.

With all of this in mind, I just hope that one day I will be able to say "I love you" to my parents without feeling awkward.

It's a good idea to accept the various methods by which we express our love because we all have different ways of doing it.

5
$ 1.76
$ 1.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @McJulez
Avatar for opacarophile
2 years ago

Comments

I love my parents very much, but I don't know why I get shy about telling "I love you" to them in person. But anyway, I believe that deep within their hearts, they feel how much I love them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. I believe that actions speak louder than words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago