In touch with nature

5 42
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: Nature, Beauty, Creation, Life, Winter, ...

This article is written in response to a prompt by @JonicaBradley to write about nature, these are my own thoughts.

Have you ever been out on a clear night away from any light pollution and looked up and seen the milky way in all its splendour.

It is a magnificent sight which I have experienced a number of times, most recently in North Wales. I never see the night sky like that in the town where I live due to the light pollution. I think it is a real shame that we are losing touch with nature today due to living mostly in densely populated towns and cities.

The milky way: picture courtesy of pixabay

I have always enjoyed spending time outdoors, you could say that this is in my nature, its the kind of person I am. I like to enjoy the beauty of creation for example the beautiful mountains, the amazing sunsets, stunning creatures with incredible beauty such as the butterflies and birds of prey.

Such amazing flowers there are to see in the spring and summertime as well, daffodils, tulips and irises to name just a few.

I think of how amazing it is that a catepillar can spin a cocoon and transform into a beautiful butterfly.

In the summer I love to go outdoors as much as I can, to take in the fresh air, to exercise and just to be able to take my time and enjoy life away from the distractions of technology and social media. To relax and unwind outdoors gives me a sense of peace and calmness.

Nature can be enjoyable, but nature can also be harsh.

In the autumn we can see beautiful colours when the leaves all turn to red and brown and fall from the trees, but we often have heavy rainfall and storms too which cause flooding and can make peoples lives difficult.

The winter time can be bitterly cold, snow and ice can be dangerous as people can easily slip over and roads can become treacherous too.

When the snow falls though I have to say it does look so pretty, to see the landscape covered by a blanket of white. I usually go out and take a few pictures whenever we have snowfall.

The landscape in winter picture courtesy of pixabay

We can still enjoy nature in the winter though but we have to wrap up warm. Many people enjoy going sledging when it snows or maybe have a snowball fight, it can be good fun.

I always feel that if I have been outdoors for a time then I have done something worthwhile with my day.

These days I think many people are too busy with work, study and the pressures of life to take a break and enjoy the natural world. There is also the constant distraction of social media these days too.

We stare at our screens, its so easy to do, to scroll through social media and spend hours doing so.

I really think that I would like to have a try of living entirely 'off grid' for a while, maybe have a week away at a quiet retreat, camping somewhere remote and leave my phone at home.

I would just take with me a camping stove, some food and a little money in my pocket and live in touch with nature for a week.

To be able to gaze at the night sky, to listen to the sound of the crickets buzzing in the grass to soak up the sun in the daytime and go for some walks or a swim in the river.

I think this would be a good thing to do for the body, mind and soul.

For now I will just try to enjoy nature as much as I can and take time to appriciate its beauty.

I am thankful of course for the technology which means I am able to share my thoughts with you, though I am much more thankful for the gift of nature.

If you made it to here, thank you for reading.

Article is my own and my own thoughts about life and nature.

Lead image my own.

Other pictures courtesy of pixabay

6
$ 2.77
$ 2.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 1
Sponsors of onlymythoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: Nature, Beauty, Creation, Life, Winter, ...

Comments

I enjoyed reading your thoughts on nature. I am a nature lover, but like you, living in town with artificial lights everywhere makes it tricky to enjoy clear night sky. My friend however lives in a more remote location, so I enjoy a night sky more when Iā€™m visiting here. Other than that, I have a garden and allotment to enjoy šŸ’š

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Great to have an allotment and grow your own vegetables very organic. šŸ˜ŠšŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being able to contemplate nature is a gift, and many times we forget to do it. We spend hours in our virtual worlds, and sometimes we don't take the time to admire our surroundings. I would also like to have a break from technology sometime and spend time just in touch with nature.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I will go on my little adventure some time I hope and come back and write about my experience. šŸ˜ŠšŸŒæ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll be looking forward to reading about it :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago