Being lazy or being a dreamer

1 57
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: Dreams, Laziness, Life, Education, Stocks, ...

I am writing this article in response to the writing prompt by@JonicaBradleycalled #Laziness.

Being lazy actually requires quite a lot of effort, let me explain.

If we are lazy when we go to school and don't put an effort into our studies we will more than likely end up having to work harder to make a living in later life.

Think about it, if we study hard and commit ourselves to learning and getting the best qualifications we can then our future life is likely to be more prosperous!

Our earning potential will be greater with a higher level of education and with a good job we can save up towards a home, a pension and a comfortable retirement too. If we are very successful we may even be able to retire early.

Why not put in the effort while you are young and then look forward to an easier life in the future?

In the book by Oscar Wilde 'The critic as artist' is the following quote:

'To do nothing at all is the most difficult thing in the world, the most difficult and the most intellectual'.

That's a strange quote at first glance I think. How can doing nothing be called difficult and intellectual?

When I was at school I must say that many people thought that I was a lazy person, that I didn't put much effort into my studies either. I guess in some ways they were right, but I never saw myself as being lazy, I think I was just more of a dreamer. I put a lot of effort into daydreaming in class at school.

In the book 'The critic as artist' there is also the following quote:

'Yes: I am a dreamer. For a dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world'.

The early morning mist at sunrise, picture courtesy of pixabay

I think that is true of me, part of the reason that I took no interest in geography for example was that I already knew many of the things that the teacher was teaching us about. I found the lessons boring, not really a challenge. Instead of paying attention in class I would dream about building a boat and sailing around the world.

In science class I would dream about building a time machine or a space rocket, much more interesting than learning the formula for photosynthesis I think.

I didn't do as well as I could have at school but my results were still above average.

As a dreamer who finds his way by the moonlight I feel that I notice many things before other people and one of the things that I dreamed about as a kid was being a fund manager in the city!

A crazy idea I know, with my level of education I knew that it would be almost impossible to get a job like this, however I still dreamed about it and followed ecconomics, the economy and emerging technologies closely in my spare time, reading lots of articles on my phone.

In my spare time I like to read financial news and take an interest in stocks, share and crypto, picture courtesy of pixabay

I am often told that I am being lazy and I spend too much time on my mobile, but I think the people who accuse me of this do not understand that I am actually educating myself and learning much.

I may not have a great job but I have done pretty well trading with modest amounts.

I have invested in a few stocks namely PayPal, Apple, Hive Blockchain Technologies, Coinbase and Square. I also hold a Precious metals ETF as a hedge against a downturn.

Also I have researched a few funds which track different markets around the world.

I am overweight in American equities where I hold around 60% of my assets. I also hold 35% in emerging markets and UK based funds as well as 5% in cryptocurrencies, which I started investing in back in 2017.

Maybe I will still be able to retire early, if the crypto market does as well as I think it can. The market is highly volatile and for that reason I take profits from time to time though I leave enough invested to benefit from a price spike.

Maybe being a dreamer will work out for me in the long run.

I don't really think that I have been lazy! Just very busy dreaming.

Speaking of dreaming it is nearly 11pm over here in the UK and I really need to get some sleep.

Disclaimer: This is not financial advice always do your own research.

I hope you enjoyed my article, you can check out some of my others here.

https://read.cash/@onlymythoughts

Article is my own

Pictures courtesy of pixabay

4
$ 3.08
$ 3.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
Sponsors of onlymythoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: Dreams, Laziness, Life, Education, Stocks, ...

Comments

Keep on dreaming! The things and technology we have today exist because of dreamers like you :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago