Who Broke You?

2 28
Avatar for olawalium
3 years ago

Image Source.​​​


I know you have loved and lost. I know you have been heartbroken and you have reduced expectations. In fact, you have imagined nothing good ever coming your way again because of how depleted you feel. You feel like throwing in the towel since you have seen life got one over you.


It is okay to feel that way. How life treats us is not so much as how we respond to life. Most of the times when challenges happen, we react rather than respond and how we either react or responds depends on the amount of faith we have in God. Our faith would be tested and Jesus already told us before hand. 


John 16:33 (NIV)

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”


I remember while growing up and I lost my only sister. It was a new feeling for me because that would be the first time I would ever lose anyone. I felt so out of touch, angry, sad and scared. I got scared because I started looking at my other siblings with fear and always shake off the thoughts of 'who is next' when I look at them. The devil is not smart but he only pry on our fears. If we can defeat that fear, then the devil would be seen as powerless as he is.


When a defining moment comes, define the moment or else the moment will define you. Courage is not the absence of fear but the presence of fear and yet the will goes on.


Most of the things that happen to us God knows. He has already outlines the events of our lives and nothing comes as a shock to Him. If He allows it then He can use it. I got to know this truth when I was in my third year in the University when I lost my dad as well. The memory of year 1998 when I lost my only sister then hit me. Just when you thought you have mastered grief, you find out it is an art that cannot be mastered as your emotions will always get the better of you. I was broken, sad and all alone. I got so many comforting words from friends and family members who promised to always be there but when the moment passed, as expected, the reality sets in.


Isaiah 2:22 (NIV)

Stop trusting in mere humans, who have but a breath in their nostrils. Why hold them in esteem?


Don't put your trust in powerful people because there is no help from them. The truth is, the heart of a king is in the hand of God, as with everyone's hearts too and when we try to sideline God and hope in man, He would sit back and make us see that there is no help from man except He wills it. It is better to take refuge in the Lord than in princes. God is more intentional about building our character and getting us to trust in Him than the distractions that life offers.


I have lost important people in my life and here I am. I know you have lost people, jobs and even things you never prepared for but God is saying He is still in charge. He wants you to trust Him through the whole process and come out stronger. He is the only one who can make a fine tune come out of broken strings. Without faith, it is impossible to please God.


Just when everyone thought David had lost it all, God orchestrated a divine turnaround for him. Everything he lost were recovered in a single day with additions to it too. The same can be said of Job when he lost everything and he was told to curse God and die. He held firm. I know it is not always going to be an easy thing with life and life deals with us all differently but with faith in God, He can turn anything around for His Glory. 


Who broke you? What broke you? What left you hanging by a thread and what made you lose it? Whatever it is, you can always look up to God, the author and the finisher of our faith and He will restore you. Have faith and hold on. A thousand years is like a day in His eyes and as long as He is God, you can be so sure of a guaranteed outcome - victory.


I never knew I can still be standing after losing my sister, father and then mother. Nothing else made sense to me again about life but when life kicks you, make sure you land on your back because if you can look up, you can get up. Never let your background or your present circumstances define who you are. Create your own narrative by trusting God to make the best out of your situation. What the enemy meant for evil, God can turn around for your good.


Psalm 33:18-20 (NIV)

But the eyes of the Lord are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love,

to deliver them from death and keep them alive in famine.

We wait in hope for the Lord; he is our help and our shield.


This Post Also Appeared Here.

Hive.

Whaleshares.

Blurt.​​​


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor's order.

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Winx1988
Avatar for olawalium
3 years ago

Comments

Hi good day,I like your.write up because you are sharing the words of God, just continue what you are doing.God bless

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for your words of encouragement. It means a lot to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago