What Is The Faith Of The Thief On The Cross As Written In Luke 23:42-43? Part 6.

1 23
Avatar for olawalium
3 years ago

This post was made in response to this awesome post. Find the link ​here.​​​


Kindly watch my video below:


HERE.​​​


Philippians 2:12 (NIV)

Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, 


We have been enjoined by Jesus Christ to obey and obeying means not only in His presence but His absence. He told His disciples this so they can continue in the good works they have seen Him do, even in His absence. This was why He was really displeased with them when they couldn't cast out the demons because He knew they should have known better that these type would never go away except with fasting and prayer. 


Another reason why He was displeased with them was when they were busy sleeping instead of them to be watching and praying. They have been with Him and they have seen His ways, He simply wanted them to follow His patterns and do the things which He has always been doing.


John 15:27 (NIV)

And you also must testify, for you have been with me from the beginning.


He wanted them to testify of the things they have seen of Him and we are also to testify not because we have seen Him do those things but we have heard the reports from those who saw Him. Part of testifying about Him is doing the things He has done as we have read in the Bible and those are the good works He wants us to continue.


Matthew 5:44 (NIV)

But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,


We are to work out our salvation with trembling and working it out means we are to have faith and do the good works He has done and the greater ones He would drop in our hearts to do as He promised through His spirit.


Growing in Jesus Christ is learning how to do good works. He has set the examples for us in His 3 years of ministry. The good works are necessary to strengthen our faith in Him and we are to model Jesus everywhere we go. In any given situation, ask yourself, "What would Jesus do?"


Matthew 25:32-40 (NIV)

All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.

He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,

I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?

When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you?

When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’


The above-mentioned Scripture depicts everything we need to know about the good works Jesus wants us to do in addition to the faith we have in Him. He wouldn't tell us to if they were not necessary and He wouldn't do them if He wouldn't want us to do them. He asked us to model Him and part of modelling Him is doing the things He did to the Glory of God's name.


This Post First Appeared Here.​​​


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor's order.

4
$ 4.09
$ 4.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for olawalium
3 years ago

Comments

Hello Jesus is Number One

$ 0.00
3 years ago