Third World Child.

0 4
Avatar for olawalium
3 years ago
Topics: Poem, Poetry, Nigeria, Blog, Writing, ...

Image Source.​​​


Growing up,

I remember running around the neighbourhood

with the others who were both my age and even older

How we would go to another's house

and take his abandoned motorcycle's tyre

I remember going to the dumping ground

in front of the pastor's house

and pick the tin of milk he had discarded

and reuse them

Turn them into whatever object of fun

Just wanting to get by and enjoy some luxuries

I remember the hunt we embark on

once the rain stops

With torchlights and buckets,

we make our way into the nearby bushes

and gather snails

Even with the rain pouring heavy sometimes

We danced in the rain and watch it fall hard

Whenever a grasscutter misses its way 

and come into the open

We chase it till we kill it,

Oh! What a sumptuous meal we would have that night

We saw everything as sports

We just wanted the rush of adrenaline 

I remember the lines we make

at the only well in the area

Where everyone gathers with their

bowls and buckets

We always left there looking drenched

like one who has been in the rain for hours

Oh! I remember when I had blood flowing on my shirt

As one of the boys playing threw a stone

I was at the receiving ends of it even though I wasn't with them

The tour around the neighbourhood?

So much to say about that

We never got tired, 

I wonder how much energy we had back then

The things we see every day never felt old,

We relished in its permanence

Talking about the bike rides we pay to ride

The table tennis stand we pay to play

Starving ourselves of lunch food at the school

Just so we could at least feel that luxury

We see the foreign kids on television

playing with toys and teddies in greenhouses

and we pity them and say,

"This must be boring to them too"

Oh! Poor us,

we had no idea it was us who lived in a country

who was wretched and in decadence.

We had no idea it was us who deserved the pity and not them

The name third world has stuck on us like a tick,

the story is the same 

for every generation that has 

lived in my country

The story seem to be the same even with more generations passing

We recycle the old trends too

We thought we were living but on other people's script

Yes, I cherish every of those moments

But a lot of things suddenly making sense right now

I may be from this part of the world

But I am not of this world

At least, not with my thinking.


This Post First Appeared Here.​​​


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor's order.

2
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for olawalium
3 years ago
Topics: Poem, Poetry, Nigeria, Blog, Writing, ...

Comments